• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [AT&T] New to GSM

snitty

Lurker
May 30, 2011
I have been a Sprint user for 12 years. I recently switched to AT&T about a month ago onto a GS3. My previous device was an EVO 4G on which I learned the Android platform. I have my GS3 rooted and am using CM10 stable release.

I have done my searching on this forum and others and I'm having trouble finding some info. Here are some of the issues I'm trying to "translate" over from my CDMA knowledge into the GSM realm.

On Sprint, we had PRLs, which gave the phone a list of towers to use. Different PRLs would affect the reception of the phone and new ones, as they were released, would usually improve reception. When new towers and network information are added to a GSM network, how does the phone get updated to know the new network information?

I am very new to using APNs. It is my assumption that these are comparable to PRL on the CDMA networks? My stock APN used default,supl,mms as the APN type. I am currently using default,admin,fota,mms,supl,hipri,internet. Are there any additions I should make to that or anything I should be removing from that? Stock protocol was IPv4, and I have since added v6 along with it.

On my Sprint phone, the radio baseband was included in OTA updates and were downloadable to try different versions. Different versions would affect service in different ways. I have gathered that the baseband term is more often "modem" than "radio". I am currently on I747UCDLK3. Is this what I should be on to be up to date, or is there an updated baseband that I could be looking for? Also, on my Evo, this was independent of the ROM and had to be flashed as a separete upgrade. I have not found much on this topic.