• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Best Calendars w/SMS

I use Calengoo for my calendar, it has the option to send SMS. I just tested it and it didn't work. I've never used it before so can't say if it ever worked but bet that since it's not an option on Google it may be a defunct choice now.

If you are looking for a general reminder type thing I can't recommend Calendar Snooze enough. Great app.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thank you. I have used reminders via SMS & Popup with all my calendar events. Usually a SMS the day before & another 1 hour before plus a popup as a reminder for travel time. Using different notification sounds just made things easier & the SMS is just something I never ignored. Looks like I'm going to be revamping my reminders. Will check out Calendar Snooze. :)

Upvote 0
No, you're not misunderstanding functionality, just how I was using the SMS. I just need to change the way I use it. I used both the SMS & the notification feature (one as a "hey, don't forget this is today/tomorrow" & one that was just a reminder allowing time to get from point A to point B. The SMS would automatically wakeup my phone & the different notification tones helped me know what was going on without having to turn on, unlock my phone. So, now, I've installed another app that wakes up my phone & have had to go into all my calendar items & change each reminder/alert individually. A hassle I didn't have before. Less security for me to remember appointments.

Upvote 0
Google got rid of SMS reminders for calendar events, but they didn't get rid of two other features that can be combined to send you SMS for calendar events:
1 - Notification of calendar events by gmail
2 - Forwarding of selected gmails to you phone as SMS automatically using a filter (which you set up on your pc)

Step 1 is done from the same pulldown menu on pc google calendar appointment editor that you used to select SMS from.