Bluetooth'd to my laptop!!!!!!


Last Updated:

  1. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    So in another thread, I posted that I bluetooth'd my Hero to my laptop and here's more info on it.

    1. The speakers on the laptop serve as a wireless speaker system when you make or receive a call.

    2. The speakers also play music from your Hero.

    3. Transfer files to and from the Hero

    4. Send a fax

    5. Tether!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6. PIM sync (hello WinMo users!)

    7. Wireless printing

    I've performed all of these functions without a hitch. So the Hero looks as if it's a better phone than anticipated... at least for me anyway.
    :D

    Here's a screenshot
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. jlachesk

    jlachesk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, that far more functionality that I was hoping for.

    Care to share how you accomplished this (though to be fair, I haven't attempted to do much with BT pairing, so it may be painfully simple).

    Exciting stuff.
     
  3. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just tried doing this with my MacBook, but was unsuccessful.
     
  4. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was painfully simple. Just never got around to it.

    Have your Hero scan for nearby devices and your bluetooth enabled laptop should recognize it. Then pair them together. Then you will be able to access a folder called (by default) HERO200. From there, you can access all the goodies I just stumbled on.

    As far as Macs, I'm sure it works the same though the fella above me was unsuccessful. I'd keep trying though. As soon as I get to my friend's Mac Book, I'll try it and give you an update if I'm successful.
     
  5. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks man. Might be a stupid question, but is the passcode for pairing "1234"?
     
  6. HTCDroid

    HTCDroid Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it doesn't give you a passcode to enter on one of the devices then it's usually 0000.
     
  7. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never mind my computer gave me a number to input into my Hero. However I got this message on my computer after I paired the two. "there were no supported services found on your device"
     
  8. NYVetteGuy

    NYVetteGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Isnt it usually 0000?
     
  9. brdsng

    brdsng New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any ideas on why I'm only seeing "Voice gateway on HERO200" on my winxp?
     
  10. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is your Hero set to "Discovery" mode?
     
  11. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Voice Gateway is talking on your phone through your laptop's speakers and microphone. Enable or disable it accordingly
     
  12. brdsng

    brdsng New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess I'm asking if you might have any ideas why that is all I'm seeing, none of the other services you showed on your screenshot are shown in my bluetooth places


     
  13. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes
     
  14. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Then I'm not sure why it's not recognizing your phone
     
  15. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Once I connected via BT, I opened My Computer> My Bluetooth> Entire Bluetooth> My device. That's where I took the screen shot.

    I'll do more investigating and report back asap
     
  16. gilroykilroy

    gilroykilroy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    As the default BT support for the Hero does not contain a PAM profile I don't see how you are tethering.
     
  17. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what blew me away too but if you look at the screenshot, you'll see an icon that says "My dial up networking."

    I've been trying tediously to get AND STAY on the internet but it comes in 30 seconds, or so, spurts. I can get online, just can't stay.

    I'm still working on it though
     
  18. mamiamjo

    mamiamjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried syncing my Hero with my laptop, but ran into a problem. I wanted to use the laptop speakers for music and calls.
    I had no problem with the pairing of two devices but when I go to connect the two my hero automatically tries to make a phone call. I tried about 4 times and each time the phone just automatically starts dialing home.
    Any ideas why this is happening?
     
  19. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's happened to me once but I just unpaired and repaired the two. Hasn't happened to me yet but I really don't understand why it happened either
     
  20. philip0871

    philip0871 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am unable to use any bluetooth services with my windows laptop. I have enabled bluetooth on my Hero and made sure everything is enabled on my laptop, but when I look for services the list is empty. Under hardware/device functions Bluetooth AV Source is listed, but when I go to connect I am unable to. I have the devices paired. What am I doing wrong?
     
  21. jlachesk

    jlachesk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm seeing basically the same thing here. No problem pairing, and the device shows up in Windows, but I can't actually connect.
     
  22. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    81
    You will not be able to tether this way. Sprint will cut you off because they know you're using the tether function. Either wait for PDANet or some other app to enable bluetooth support (needs at least Android 2.0 or later due to BT SDK limitations) or root the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...