• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Boot Android over WAN?

hsuanyeh

Lurker
Jul 11, 2011
I am new to Android. However, I am thinking whether anyone has configured Android in a network storage (e.g., in iSCSI target, in FTP/HTTP server, etc.), such that a mobile device can be booted into Android over the network?

Adroid devices are supposed to be network ready at all times. In particular, LTE is so fast that makes me think whether local installation of OS is still necessary. I believe that cloud boot Android would be a feasible future design option. Any thoughts and/or comments?

I know iPXE (ipxe.org) can load and boot various Linux distros. If someone can add a network driver for Android devices in iPXE, I believe this is doable. One advantage for booting over WAN that I can think of is the convenience of OS upgrade. Users can simply reboot and voila new OS is up and running. Another advantage is that users can save some strorage space for data rather than for OS. I know booting over WAN may take longer than local installatipn, but I seem to reboot my mobile device once or twice a year. So if the OS is robust enough, there is in principle no need to reboot, isn't it?

Upvote 0
You're considering using your phone as a NAS? Is that the application you're wanting here and that's why you're wanting to boot it remotely?

He means no OS actually on the phone's permanent storage. Would get loaded into ram on powerup over the air.

Would be something like the carrier having a server that has rom images for all their different phones, when you power on the phone it would boot the os over network from that server. If an OS upgrade needed to be done on a particular model phone, the carrier would replace that model's rom image on the server and the next time you reboot the phone you're running a new rom image.