Calendar FC on Darch 2.7


Last Updated:

  1. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    Guys, anyone have an answer as to why my calendar keeps FCing on Darch 2.7? I really want this ROM to be the one that saves me from smashing my phone, but I need my calendar. Help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm having the same issue. Other forums say to clear the data on the calendar through the Applications menu in Settings. There is no calendar in Applications...
     
  3. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    Did you happen to use Titanium backup to restore?
    I did on my first install of Darch and had the same problem.

    I restored my nandroid and tried again, this time I decided to go without my backup and start fresh.
    No more force close problems.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  4. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    Agreed.

    That was my mistake as well. Reflashed and restored everything BUT the calendar stuff.

    Working well so far. This ROM may have just saved my phone from early termination by the way of smashing. It could also be too early to tell.

    One odd thing I've noticed, is that the first time I was running the ROM (when I had the FC with the calendar) my free space was over 100MB with all my apps installed. Now, with the new setup (same setup, just fixed the calendar), I'm down to 28MB. I don't suppose it's too big of a deal as long as I don't run out of room ,but it's odd.
     
  5. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    That is a little odd.
    I've been on the ROM now for about three days and I'm showing 140mb free.
    I didn't ever restore the rest of my info, but I've got all my apps, widgets and launchers up and running.

    You running apps2sd?
     
  6. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37

    Yep on the Apps2sd. I did however forget to check the apps2sd box before i restored and i can't remember if I had checked it prior to restoring the first time (when I had all the extra room). What would be the quickest/cleanest/easiest way to move everything to the sd card if that's in fact what the issue is?
     
  7. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    honestly, if it were me, I'd probably just wipe and flash the ROM again. I started having some pretty irritating issues when I got my memory down as low as yours.

    If you were running apps2sd before changing ROMs, it should all still be on the SD card. Check the app drawer before you do the restore. You may find you don't need to restore the apps. Just the data. All I had to do was go through the settings for my widgets again.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  8. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    as a side note, I totally made the same mistake the first time I installed too :D
     
  9. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    I may give it a go later tonight if I get a moment.
     
  10. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    As did I, and I'm sure that's what's causing my calendar issues. I'll have to reflash and see what happens...
     
  11. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    I reflashed, checked apps2sd first and then restored all with Titanium.

    Worked like a charm!! I'm sitting at around 118MB free and so far, it's running nice! THis may have just saved my phone!! Now for the battery life test.

    QUick question for anyone who has experience with this ROM. Do the contacts have Facebook integration like the SenseUI does? All of my contacts pictures are their Facebook pictures, but I don't know if that is from the Titanium Restore, or if it's actively syncing and would change if someone changed their picture. Just curious.

    TIA
     
  12. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Yes, the contacts actively sync with Facebook.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  13. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    I can't find anywhere to "link" them. Am I just missing it? Any help is appreciated :)

    BTW, I truly hope this isn't just a "honeymoon" phase that I'm going through, but I am truly loving my phone again. The battery seems to be depleting pretty quickly, but I'm going to give that a few days (and probably wipe battery stats) to get a true feel for how the battery life will be.

    My thinking at this point is, if the battery drains quickly, but the phone is functional and responsive, that's already a step ahead of where I just came from (where the battery AND phone sucked) so it's a win for me.

    Edit: One more question :) I set up VVM (by flashing the .zip on XDA) and it works fine, however, I'm getting the text message notifications ("ANDROID has sent you blah blah blah) alerting me of the voicemail. I remember getting these in the beginning and blacklisting them in Handsent and they were never seen again. I've blacklisted it in Handscent this time, but they still show up, they are just "hidden" so they are there, but just not shown. Any idea how to eliminate them altogether?
     
  14. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Linking the contacts is a bit tricky, but not really. By default if the contact name matches the facebook name exactly, it will automatically sync. However if they are different (example, contact = mom fb = Terri), it will likely not Sync. To get it to "link" what you do is go into Contacts, choose the one you want, hit edit contact. Once you are in the edit area, then hit your menu button and choose Link. This will allow you to link to your facebook.

    As for the VVM, I use google voice so I can't really help you there unless I researched it as I know it has been brought up before.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  15. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    hmmmm, when I follow those instructions and hit menu in the edit contact area, i get the following "done, revert, new contact, delete contact, separate, join" but no "link". am i doing something wrong?
     
  16. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    I use the facebook sync app for keeping the pics synced. In the app it gives you a little icon next to each of your contact names that are synced with a Facebook profile and you can then make changes and assign ones that don't already have a match.
    I haven't gotten around to fixing the VM SMS thing myself yet, but its fairly rare that I actually get voicemails so it hasn't bothered me yet.

    I'm fairly sure there was a fix somewhere on the XDA forum where the ROM and VVM fix were posted. Sorry, I can't be more specific at the moment.
     
  17. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Hit join, not link. My mistake. Tried to do it from memory.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  18. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    Odd problem I'm having with this ROM. Because of the calendar issue, I decided to wipe everything (Dalvik, Factory reset) and when I restart the phone, my custom wallpaper is already showing. That doesn't make sense, does it? I would think that would be gone. So I tried wiping and flashing again. Same result.

    Oh- problem two: When I go to Settings/Accounts & Sync and try to add a Facebook account, nothing happens. I tap "add account" and then "facebook" and it just goes to the previous screen without doing anything.
     
  19. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Just to be sure, are you wiping both data and dalvik?
     
  20. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yep, but I'm going to try it one more time.
     
  21. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Not sure if this will solve it for you, but did you try flashing the googleshits?
     
  22. Squiggy

    Squiggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    18
    I did, and it made no difference. Here's the sequence:

    1. Wipe Data/Factory Reset

    2. Wipe Dalvik

    3. Wipe ext partition

    4. Flash ROM

    5. Flash Google Shits

    6. Reboot
     
  23. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37

    I'm not doing something right. I hit "join" and it wants me to joint with another contact, it doesn't bring up facebook contacts.

    I'm stupid :(
     
  24. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Give me an exact example if you can. What is the contact name and what it their name on facebook?

    The names have to be similar or it won't give you any suggestions to join with.
     
    ToxicToastKatz likes this.
  25. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    What UI are you using?
    In my case, I use Launcher Pro, and it has a backup feature for your home screens. That backup file is on the SD card so it wouldn't be wiped with everything else.
    I had my wallpaper come up immediately when I installed for that reason.
     

Share This Page

Loading...