Can't connect to AT&T server for updatesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. fgbrault

    fgbrault New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whenever I try to see if there is a software update for my AT&T Captivate I get this message:

    "Communication failed Unable to communicate with the AT&T server"

    My current build number is ECLAIR.UCJH7 AND MY Firmware Version is 2.1- update 1

    Any thoughts on what the problem is would be appreciated. Thanks.

    Regards,
    Frank B
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    First, welcome!

    A search of the forum disclosed this:

    From the Home screen, press the Menu button and select Settings.
    1. Select Application, then Manage Applications
    2. Press the Menu button, then Filter, then select Running.
    3. Scroll down the list and select Device management.
    4. Under the Storage section, press the Clear data button.
    5. Power your phone off, then back on.

    See if it works for you. If not, there's another method that requires root and can be found here:

    Software Updates - CapFAQ
     
  3. gary1949

    gary1949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've been getting the same error "unable to communicate . . . " and used the procedure detailed by Jack45. I found that it was important to reboot (turn off phone and pull battery for 10 seconds) BEFORE using the return key to get back to your homescreen.

    This procedure works one time for me - I can check for updates and find that no updates are available (communicating with AT&T OK), but the next time I check for updates I'll get the "unable to communicate . . . " error again, so I have to re-do the procedure. I've done this about 5 times now and check for updates every 2-3 days.

    It's a bit of a hassle, but it works. :eek:
     
  4. chmagic

    chmagic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did not work I am having same problem since last update also
     
  5. BumpySig

    BumpySig Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was able to get the update to JH7 however like others I then had the connection issue. I just tried this method and after finishing I checked for updates to see if it worked. It did, and for some reason my phone started to download an update. Has anyone else had this happen.
     
  6. fgbrault

    fgbrault New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jack, thanks. It worked! I had done a search and did not find anything. I really appreciate your help.

    I will check again tomorrow to see if it is still working, after the 24 hyrs has expired.

    Regards,
    Frank B

     
  7. fgbrault

    fgbrault New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Garry thanks. It worked for me without pulling the battery. Tomorrow after the 24 hours has expired I will try again to see if it is a one-time fix

     
  8. fgbrault

    fgbrault New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to confirm that I was able to check for a software update today without any problem. Thanks again.
     
  9. Larry202br

    Larry202br Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed it does! I had the same problem. used jacks method plus the battery remove reboot, and that did the trick.[​IMG]:D
     
  10. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    Are there any "official" updates since JH7?
     
  11. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    No. If there were you'd see 1091203889798 threads about it.
     
  12. Jofaba

    Jofaba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    31
    hmm, tried this and it didnt work. I haven't had a successful update check since the last update.
     
  13. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    What are you hoping to install? There are no new updates.
     
  14. danrosauer

    danrosauer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. Isn't there an update to from Android 2.1 to 2.2 for AT&T Samsung Captivate users?
     
  15. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    63
    No but its funny that a official Samsung tweet I just hot said they are working on it for the U.S.
     
  16. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    No. Basically, if you have to ask, the answer is still "no".

    When it's out, it'll be all over the news and flooding the forums.
     
  17. th3r00st3r

    th3r00st3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the phone for about 2 months now. I cannot get it to connect to the ATT server. I don't even have the JH7. Tried Jacks fix, bit still says unable to communicate with ATT server. Is there a way to load it manually?
     

Share This Page

Loading...