Can't use stock Samsung apps with custom ROM... ADB help


Last Updated:

  1. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm using Bearsfan85's custom ROM, but have lost the voice dialer app that was in the Samsung's touch wiz ROM. As this is helpful to avoid car accidents while on the road, I was hoping to get it back. I have the .apk file but ASTRO file manager won't let me install it. I've tried to adb push it but I get a "read-only file error". For whatever reason, the commands "adb remount" or "adb shell sysrw" aren't being recognized, which I think is what I need to do to adb push the voice dialer back onto my phone.

    Unless of course, the Samsung apps just aren't compatible anymore.

    Any thoughts or advice?
     

    Advertisement
  2. j0hnh0lmes

    j0hnh0lmes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    36
  3. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Using that market voice dialer for now, but man, wht an ugly icon.

    I'd still like to know how to push the Samsung apps through to my phone though. I paid for the phone, I should have the right to use those .apk files.
     
  4. suyash1

    suyash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    19
    you need to push it thru adb
     
  5. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Please read my first post. I've tried to push it through adb, but I'm getting a read-only error.

    adb shell sysrw isn't being recognized as a command.
     
  6. #1indahoodg

    #1indahoodg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try different usb slots on the computer till adb recognizes the phone and make sure you have pc studio selected and not mass storage. Once you have adb running type this "adb devices" and see if it detects your phone, good luck..
     
  7. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    when you type adb shell, do you get a $ or a #
     
  8. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, my phone is detected when I type "adb devices"

    When I type "adb shell" I get a "#" prompt

    However, the command "adb shell sysrw" is not recognized as a valid command, and from what I've read elsewhere, is the correct command to give me write priviledges to push the stock samsung .apk to the phone. I've also tried "adb shell su sysrw" and the command prompt just locks up, won't allow any more input... You have to close the window to get out of it.

    "adb remount" is likewise, not accepted as a valid command.
     
  9. j0hnh0lmes

    j0hnh0lmes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    36
    you have to give a location to push to and from

    I.E.

    "adb shell

    adb push c:\Superuser.apk system/app"


    c:\Superuser.apk is obviously the file name and the location on your harddrive
    system/app is the folder that superuser.apk is being pushed to.

    Just find out where you put the dialer on your harddrive and find out what folder you need to push to. Also, remember that it is case sensative and the \ & / does matter.
     
  10. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    um, I've never had to type that command for write privileges. A rooted phone should already have write privileges. Oh, btw I did push the VoiceDialer.apk and VoiceDialer.odex form the ota into bearsfan's rom, and it doesn't work. I think its an element of touchwiz, either the launcher or contacts.
     
  11. j0hnh0lmes

    j0hnh0lmes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    36
    hopefully microhaxo or bearsfan will look into this
     
  12. suyash1

    suyash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    19
    i removed both touchwiz launcher and touchwiz contacts and voicedialer worked fine from the ota
     
  13. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Running Bearsfan85's ROM which should give me root access, but I'm still getting read-only file errors.
     
  14. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    did you flash from stock 1.5, stock 1.6, or a BH_MAN rom?
     
  15. darryl zero

    darryl zero Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did a full rewrite/flashed back to the official 1.6 OTA, then flashed to Bearsfan85's ROM.
     
  16. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hmmm, well if you are using the latest bearsfan rom, you should have full permissions. The only thing I can suggest is resetting the phone in recovery mode, and if that doesn't work, try re-flashing the rom.
     
  17. bearsfan85

    bearsfan85 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    97
    sorry ive been busy recently and dont look at the BH2 section that much, even if you got the voice dialer on there I would be surprised if it works because of my removal of twiz. Also in reading this did you just try adb install?

    For ease I would put the voice dialer app into the tools section of the the sdk then cd the tools folder than

    but I assume uve already tried that, that rom has root so there shouldnt be any issues with rw, my trouble shooting is limited right now as I dont have the phone anymore
     

Share This Page

Loading...