Clarification of Microsoft Bing Integration


Last Updated:

  1. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    I know there's so much confusion about exactly how much Bing takes over Google on this phone. From my personal experience and observations, Bing only takes over the Google Search widget.
     

    Advertisement
  2. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    And the search soft key, but I rarely ever used that to search anyway.
     
  3. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Ahh that's right. I forgot that it even existed. lol I really never use it.
     
  4. racerxe24

    racerxe24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    91
    In talking to the in store CSR/salesperson/manager/who the heck knows, he told me that from here on out that Verizon now has a contract with Microsoft and Bing will be the default search engine on all android devices starting with the Fascinate from here on out. He seemed to be as unhappy about this as I was. I asked him if they would push this down to the D1, D2, DInc, and DX and he said no...just everything from here on out... So it looks like if you want verizon goodness and an android phone that uses google it will be root-time... I wonder how Google feels about this and how this will play out...
     
  5. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    The store reps aren't very knowledgeable or informative. Debunk: Bing not replacing Google on all Verizon Android devices -- Engadget

    Another example, when I bought my phone today, they insisted that they set it up. Apparently, if they didn't do it, I wouldn't be able to activate it or import my contacts...I looked at the two reps, and said "Really, I didn't think it was that hard to use gmail to port my contacts, or my sd card..." I then said, under my breath, that I have done it numerous times on my own...anyway, they don't know jack!
     
    maj likes this.
  6. almostemerica17

    almostemerica17 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesnt that article say google search bar will be available with 2.2????


    So whats the bid deal?
     
  7. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    The word Bing is scary.
     
  8. maj

    maj Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously the reps that I had to deal with today were just as dumb. I think it was safe to say that I probably new more about all the phones in the store than all the reps working their(about 6-8 of them). What was worse is that I felt bad for all the people that they were supposedly helping with their new fascinates today. Idk how they can be so clueless on their phones. I know the phone came out today, but they didn't have to go off spouting bullshit lies about what the phone can and cannot do.
    The rep apparently didn't know that there was already a version of task killer pre-loaded and tried going into the market to download one b4 i stopped him. Just payed for my phone and left after that.
     
  9. SirKronan

    SirKronan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    196
    So does this mean that we can have Google nav just fine then???
     
  10. makemehavefun

    makemehavefun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    14
    The absence of Google search on the Samsung Fascinate will be fixed when the phone gets Android 2.2, Verizon spokeswoman Brenda Raney told Electronista today. She asserted it was an "incorrect assumption" that Verizon had blocked the app and that it was allegedly only available once a given phone was upgraded to 2.2. She also pointed out that Google wasn't entirely blocked, as voice search still used Google Maps.
    "Google is responsible for what is in [Android Market]," she claimed, adding in a follow-up statement that "we're not blocking anything."


    Read more: Verizon: Google Search optional for Fascinate on Android 2.2 | Electronista

    ---

    I certainly hope this is legit. Not for my sake, cuz I'm probably going to end up rooting anyway... but for everyone else who can't be bothered with Bing or rooting that want this phone.
     
  11. mumblin2myself

    mumblin2myself Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    The CSR who sold me my Fascinate was also pretty uninformed... apparently he had been told that it was impossible to install Google Maps on the phone as VZW had blocked it in the marketplace. I informed him that the first thing I did upon entering the store was to install Maps on the floor model so I could get some idea of how well the GPS functioned. He then tried to sell me on the crappy VZW screen protectors, and was shocked when I showed him my Inc. w/ a Steinheil (he'd been using the VZW protectors on his Inc., hated them).

    Bottom line: Bing is an annoyance, albeit a minor one, and really doesn't interfere with the use of the phone in any substantial manner. It's up there with Backup Assistant in terms of being a pain but ultimately harmless and simple to work around.
     
  12. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Yes of course. I installed Google Maps on my phone and was able to open up Navigation just fine.
     
    SirKronan likes this.
  13. rushmore

    rushmore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    8,267
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    If you folks are wondering why all of the VZW media traffic about Bing, it is because (per VZW manager and sales rep) first day sales were hurt (in their opinion) due to people's impression about it.

    That may be true to some degree, but general customers would not even know to be concerned. Then again, "general" customers tend to not pay $250 for a device and two year contract and $30 a month data plans. They get the free or $50 options and $10 plans. Perhaps VZW's concern is valid then?
     
  14. SirKronan

    SirKronan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    196
    Their concern is absolutely valid. I'm so glad that the consumers got educated enough on this product to complain about it when they went in. I have complained about it myself on the phone with them when discussing smartphone options. That said, Verizon typically listens when it comes to stuff like this, if there are enough complaints. I'm sure if Bing was wonderful people wouldn't complain. I've tried to like it myself on the desktop platform. It just doesn't find what I want - PERIOD. When I search for something with Google, the results that make the most sense to my brain are usually at the top. With Bing, sometimes the results I'm looking for don't show up at all. I will try the same exact search words with both engines. Google gets it right WAY more often, and is still typically faster. If the desktop experience is in anyway similar to the phone experience, then I don't want bing on my phone either.
     
  15. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Best solution is to just have Google as your home page on your browser. Very simple solution.
     
  16. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    I've always done this anyway, for whatever reason I rarely ever hit the soft key search button and I never kept a search widget on my home screen. So I don't really notice Bing at all, but I know it is there.
     
  17. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    So, if I understand this correctly...

    To get rid of Bing, or at least minimize it... I can remove the Bing Widget from the homescreen, put a Google Voice Search App on the home screen and download Google Maps?

    I'm new to Android... is there a seperate Google Voice Search app other than the Google Widget? Or is it the Google Widget and the text searching goes through Bing, but the Voice Search goes through Google?

    After that, the only thing Bing affected is the capacitive search button on the phone? Once I have Google Maps installed I can select it as the default mapping for everything?
     
  18. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, you download Google maps, and there is a Voice Search app. Put that on your homescreen (or one of them), delete the Bing Widget from the homescreen. The Voice Search app goes through Google search and Maps. You are also correct that the soft key will be the only thing affected if you use search the above way. As far as making Google Maps default, i'm not sure...but since I use the Voice Search app or Navi app, it hasn't been an issue.
     
  19. tystevens

    tystevens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep. I installed it on the SF last night, and it led me to work this morning. Worked perfectly, and it is a really cool navigation aid.
     
  20. Bwangster12

    Bwangster12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    By default... I just meant when you click on an address or something can we have it use Google Navigation to route you?

    So, the Voice Search app is pre-installed? So this route means we can't enter text to search, we have to voice search first and then can enter text once it searches it? But from this Voice Search app we can say something like "Navigate to Starbucks" and it'll use Google Maps to navigate?

    Seems the Bing integration is an incredibly minor hindrance here. Yeah, it would be nice to be able to have the capacitive button function the way we want it, but if not using that button is the only negative, not a big deal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...