Complete noob just wants 800MHz

Last Updated:

1. TheSchneidster

TheSchneidster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Alright folks, please forgive me for asking some seriously lame questions.

I've searched everywhere and haven't been able to find any answers that make sense to me ... why? Because I'm lame.

I have, however, rooted my phone and am pretty comfortable using ClockworkMod and/or ROM Manager (Lite).

SPRecovery, too ...

I used CM6 for a little while (pretty rad) and tried using UD8 this morning (wouldn't load, oh well) but the thing is, I like the stock image.

All I want to do is overclock a bit to around 800 or so.

I tried using ChevyNo1 kernels, but I don't think I'm doing it right.

Is there a way to check (using terminal or something) to see what the CPU speed is? I'd really hate to have to spend 1

Advertisement
  2. Lock-N-Load

Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

SetCPU.. buy it, get it, it IS the standard tool for setting your clock speed, checking it, making profile settings to adjust speed based on other phone factors like heat, screen, charging, etc. I really think, and I am cheap, this is a MUST have app for OCing

everyone has a kernel recommendation as it has really been shown that each phone is different. I cannot use P3's, but I have GREAT luck with Chevy and the JDLFG I am using below... see my signature.

PS - why mess with 800 when 1.2 is pretty reliable and 1.0 is really reliable for most

3. publicanimal

publicanimal Well-Known Member

All you need is SetCPU. You can use it to overclock the stock kernel to 800 MHz. I'm currently using the ChevyNo1 1.0 GHz low voltage kernel and I love it.

4. Fabolous

Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

Yeah, I highly recommend purchasing SetCPU.

If you just want to see your processor speed though, Quadrant will do that in its system info section.

You can also get SetCPU for free if you're a member of XDA, though I must stress, it really is worth the $2.

5. TheSchneidster