Complete rooting guide is now available


Last Updated:

  1. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6

    Advertisement
    undies, ha3kthi5, Colinjlyon and 2 others like this.
  2. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    Just finished rooting.
    Completely easy no hassles no errors. Everything that was brand related gone. All sony ericson apps but one gone. Home button defaulted to Zeam. Also an interesting note I had already upgraded my phone to latest firmware and because of this I did not loose any data. I ended up with a rooted phone with all my installed apps and data in tact.
     
    Colinjlyon likes this.
  3. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think I will wait until there is a custom ROM out to flash. The removal of crap-apps isn't enough to make me want to flash it.

    Do you have the x10a or x10i?
     
  4. airplaneman

    airplaneman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does this mean we can install 2.2 now?
     
  5. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    We now have the permissions to install on the phone, now we just need a custom 2.2 ROM with all the x10 drivers.
     
    airplaneman likes this.
  6. airplaneman

    airplaneman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ohh, ok, thanks!
     
  7. aodmisery

    aodmisery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    14
    as of right now besides being able to remove unwanted apps what else can you do with rooting your phone
     
  8. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Install apps which require root access
     
  9. gaz23g

    gaz23g Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    YEAHHHHHH!!! phone rooted now let the cooking begin
     
  10. airplaneman

    airplaneman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does this change the theme to the default android theme?
     
  11. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    No, it is still the x10 rom just roots it and removes a few apps
     
  12. airplaneman

    airplaneman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh, now I see why you want to wait for the custom ROM..
     
  13. powerkiter

    powerkiter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    106
    Until they can crack the boot loader then all we can do is remove and add extra apps and the root does include a newer build version if you want to add it.

    But it seems people are having some issues of important parts of the phone not working and you still need to keep either media scape or time scape as its an integral part of the phone. Plus others are saying they can no longer receive texts, MMS hook up to WIFI and other issues so I will wait a little longer till all the bugs are ironed out.

    EDIT: I've just been back to the first page and they have already updated the folders you need to download to take care of any of the listed issues above.

    So fair play to them for getting it sorted so quickly, I still feel a bit intimidated by the process of rooting!
     
  14. xX MEDO Xx

    xX MEDO Xx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you upgraded your X10 to the latest firmware while rooting your phone.
    Because the root Procedure give you a R1FA018 firmware
    So how did you get a root phone with a R2BA020 firmware

    Thanks..
     
  15. wynney666

    wynney666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    34
    Head over to xda with the link in first post,

    powerkiter had already said, they updated the guide today 01/07/10
    with instructions for R2BA020.
    :)
     
    xX MEDO Xx likes this.
  16. xX MEDO Xx

    xX MEDO Xx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Have Successfully Rooted My X10i From (Saudi Arabia) R1FA014
    To (UK) R2BA020 With Some Removed Applicatons & Control of the
    Starup App.
    My X10i Is now x2 faster than before.... Rooting Is Cool
    And Battery Is Better Than Before (Last Longer) :)
    Cheers
     
  17. daviddakota

    daviddakota Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never rooted a phone before, so excuse my ignorange.

    By rooting, I can remove Moxier etc? What happens when SE issue an update OTA - will I still be able to access this? Will it reinstall Moxier etc?
     
  18. kersey

    kersey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    20
    Rooted mine today to R2BA023 over at XDA, all went smoothly.

    Have not encountered any problems in using my X10, and have removed Moxier, Play Now, Facebook and a number of other things.

    Battery life seems great so far and the best thing is that I find the incall volume is a lot better than the UK generic firmware R2BA020.

    If SE issue another update you just need to flash to an earlier rom such as R1FA014 or 016 and then I believe you can return your phone to a non-rooted official rom.

    Really am glad I rooted mine after my deliberation of the pro's and cons :D

    Go for it daviddakota ;)
     
    Bexy likes this.
  19. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes so far the battery life is visibly better. All the SE official apps have been removed on my device. Deleted there home app and installed PanadaHome instead. SuperUser apk to allow root access to tools like Titanium backups and reboot app.

    Soon i hope we will have 2.2 roms to play with.
     
  20. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Im interested in this rooting thing but I am unable to find my deviceID at all have followed the guide and my phone is installed on PC and all sony software etc but I can't find it????
    Windows 7x64 if that helps
     
  21. powerkiter

    powerkiter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    106
    Head over to XDA and the thread on rooting as you need to be using a 32bit system but there is a work around but cant think of it off the top of my head.

    There are lots of people using windows 7 having issues with rooting but follow the instructions and it will be easy by all accounts.
     
  22. powerkiter

    powerkiter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    106
  23. tase25

    tase25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok, sorry guys but I am so new to rooting and I don't own a PC (Mac user). But I really really want to root my X10 which I got from Rogers bc the battery life is ridiculous. I've downloaded juicedefender and Advanced Task Killer and although there is some improvement, I still only get about 12-16 hrs before a recharge.


    Can someone please provide me with the simplest (easiest) and latest guide to rooting my X10a from Rogers???
     
  24. RAND0M1ZER

    RAND0M1ZER Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can only root through Windows, although the developers said they may make is available for Linux. Sorry Macs.

    You can either root on a windows machine or use a virtual machine.
     
  25. tase25

    tase25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    Haha, yeah I know I can't root on a MAC.

    Basically I'm looking for the simplest, straight forward rooting instructions to root the x10a that even a MAC user would understand. :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...