• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Contacts saved Multiple Times on Samsung GS2

andydonlon

Lurker
Jan 30, 2012
HI Guys,
I have been really frustrated with my new Samsung Galaxy S2.

I am not technically minded at all, and require your help & assistance.

On my phone I have 504 contacts, I have them all saved to Gmail account also.
However on my Handset phone it shows I have contacts for the following in Groups:
"My Contacts" - 504
"Unknown (hotmail account)' - 148
"Unknown (hotmail account)' - 17122

can you advise on How I can delete these permanently off my phone, as this is causing the phone to be very slow in response to actions commanded.
much appreciated
Andy

go to contacts, settings, save new contacts to.

choose google. do not choose phone, do not choose sim card, sim card can save contacts, and so can the phone itself. you do NOT need contacts saved to sim nor phone because google is all you need! how hotmail saved a random number, 148, and 17,122, i do not know.

however, even if you loose your phone or it breaks, google will always have your contacts. and deleting contacts from the "contacts storage" app will NOT delete them from gmail, which i will discuss below.

to fix, when in contacts, go into menu, more, sim management. delete contacts from sim. you obviously do not need contacts on sim, and i bet the sim and ALSO the phone itself has duplicated your contacts, or in your case , trippled.

when in contacts, look to the right of your contacts. there should only be a "g" or google symbol, NOT a sim card or phone symbol.

under contacts, go to accounts. under accounts you will/should have your gmail account. i bet you will see here your hotmail account.

under contacts, go to settings again. you will see at the top save new contacts to phone, google, etc. set it to google.