• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Could a firmware update to 1.6 break the mic + ear-speaker?

timmydog

Lurker
Sep 7, 2009
Hello all,

My Galaxy recently went quiet while making phone calls, i.e. the ear-speaker and the microphone both stopped working; I tried the in call volume, but that wasn't it.

I tried re-flashing to 1.5 because I was thinking that it was a hardware problem and I would have to return it; that didn't fix it either, so I took it back to an O2 shop for repair.

I was a bit annoyed with the man in the shop, because he put in the fault report that the phone crashed all the time which it didn't and I didn't say that it did - I'm a software developer and I appreciate that good bug/fault reports are invaluable. I suspect he "analysed" the problem and was "helping" by hinting at a solution for the repair centre. :thinking:

However, when I picked up the phone today, it has version "I7500XXIK4" of the firmware, the mic and speaker work and the repair details say that the repair was to flash to the latest version of the firmware and did I know that software ought to be kept up-to-date (yes, version 2.1 would be nice Samsung ;)).

Anyway - this doesn't sound like a firmware problem to me. What does everyone think?

Also, if you think that it might be the possible cause, this makes me wary to flash back to 1.6 firmware. What would you do?

Thanks for your input...

Tim

no its not 1.6
it could have been firmware
more likely the headset glitch where you need to insert and remove the headset in rapid succession to free the dirt and short in the jack that causes the device to be stuck in headset mode.
there are posts about it.
its more likely the repair center flashed it, cleaned it and it worked but its likely the cleaning was the fix

Reactions: timmydog
Upvote 0
I cannot believe it hehe, the exactly same thing happened to me, but for a different reason.