• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Create a (global) variable with the name of another variables value?

DoctorCat

Lurker
Oct 9, 2015
Hello all.

I have a scene with buttons. When I press a button, the tap action is Perform task. %par1 contains %element_name. Now, I would like to create a global vairable with the name of this value.

The purpose is to make a general task that will work for a lot of different buttons in the scene, without neccessarily knowing the variable names.

Example:
I press Button1. That will Perform task with %par1 set to %element_name (i.e Button1)
Now, I'd like the task to create a new global variable with the name %Button1.

But how?

Please explain it in a simple way. Even though I've played quite a bit with Tasker, I am not a professional or a programmer, just learning on the way.

Welcome to Android Forums.

Do you really need to create a variable called %Button 1?

Perhaps you mean you want to assign Button1 as the value to a global variable like ... in the Tap of each button you have ...
Variable Set %Waaa to %element_name
... and when the Scene returns control to the Task you have something like ...
Flash %Waaa

If it was in a button called Button1 then the Flash would say Button1.

... Thom

Upvote 0
Welcome to Android Forums.

Do you really need to create a variable called %Button 1?

Perhaps you mean you want to assign Button1 as the value to a global variable like ... in the Tap of each button you have ...
Variable Set %Waaa to %element_name
... and when the Scene returns control to the Task you have something like ...
Flash %Waaa

If it was in a button called Button1 then the Flash would say Button1.

... Thom