Data connection stops when a call comes in.


Last Updated:

  1. Edalrat

    Edalrat New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    T-Mobile myTouch 3G
    Firmware version 1.6
    Baseband Version 62.505.20.17H_2.22.19.261
    Kernel Version 2.6.29.6-cm42
    Build Number DRC92

    I have an unlimited data plan through T-Mobile. I am using my phone in the United States, West Coast.

    The issue I am having is when I am using the Tethering for root user and I receive or send a call, my connection seems to pause. This also causes web pages to not load and the 3G or E icon goes away from the Status bar at the top of the screen. Does anyone know of a way for me to have the data connection continue when a cell call comes in?

    Thank you,
    Dale
     

    Advertisement
  2. jeffyo

    jeffyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yep, that's what happens. It's normal.


    You can change the call forwarding option during the time you are using your tether to keep from getting an interruption.
     
  3. Edalrat

    Edalrat New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what I have been hearing as well. That is my reason for asking if anyone knew a way around it.
     
  4. jeffyo

    jeffyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nope. It's programed that way. I'm not sure if it's carrier specific but from my experience with T-Mobile G1 and the Eris, that's seems to be the case. I also used my G1 on ATT and it would stop Data if a call was being placed.
     
  5. Edalrat

    Edalrat New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am wondering if there are any developers that might know where in programming the phone is told to turn the data connection off. I do have root access on my phone and can make changes if I need to.
     
  6. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah I'm pretty sure it has to do do with call priority which I think you can change. Also I'm pretty sure simaltanious data and voice is only capable of being done over WCDMA not EDGE/GPRS which would be the case of a G1 on AT&T since the freqquencys for WCDMA are different on tmobile and att.
     
  7. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Verizon Droid seems to turn off the 3G whenever a call comes through so I imagine it is for all thebcarriers.
     
  8. nateo200

    nateo200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nope that's an inherate problem only with cdma2000 networks like verizon and sprint UMTS networks don't have this issue. If you read the thread you would know that.
     
  9. Josh0187

    Josh0187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I read your above post and I didn't think it pertained. Cell phones are not my specialty, PCs are.
     

Share This Page

Loading...