Data Usage WarningSupport


Last Updated:

  1. c1nnamon

    c1nnamon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can't figure out how to turn off the data usage warning. Does anyone know how to turn it off.? I have AT&T if that makes a difference.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    110
    Uncheck the data usage limit box in data usage settings.
     
  3. c1nnamon

    c1nnamon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4

    The box isn't checked, but I'm still getting the warnings.
     
  4. Krunk83

    Krunk83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    110
    Reboot
     
    c1nnamon likes this.
  5. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,305
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    You can increase your data warning limit by sliding the Orange bar up the graph or a reboot might get rid of it.
     
    c1nnamon likes this.
  6. redhook

    redhook Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    142
    This! I have unlimited 4G (the new T-Mobile plan) and I simply slid it all the way up to 100GB.
     
  7. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    This is not a solution. I have Sprint and always go over 100GB per month. How do I turn this warning off?
     
  8. parishmc

    parishmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    14

    how can you possibly use 100GB in a month ?

    don't think that's even possible unless you stream video
    24/7
     
  9. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,752
    Likes Received:
    3,698
    100gb? How is that even humanly possible?
     
  10. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,305
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Open up your data usage and press data usage cycle, change cycle and set the reset day to today
     
  11. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, this phone will be replacing my photon and <grabs a random monthly statement>; the phone used 143,516,825KB for 4G only this past August. This is about 136GB.

    I see that I can reset but it is annoying that I can not shut it off to never alert.
     
  12. parishmc

    parishmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    14

    post a capture of the actual bill, i'm really having a hard
    time believing this !!!
     
  13. rcsrich

    rcsrich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    Please tell me you are tethering- that's the only way I can imagine you would use that kind of data in a month!
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    13,054
    If youre using 100 gb+ every month I have a feeling you are going to be getting the boot very soon.

    Unlimited has its limits, and I've seen people get kicked for less.


    (How you manage to get 100+ gb on sprints slow network is a story for another time ;))
     
  15. parishmc

    parishmc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    14
    100+GB definitely puts you in the top 1% and no doubt
    Sprint will terminate you after a few months.
     
  16. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8,752
    Likes Received:
    3,698
    100gb is just as risky as a couple gigs in roaming. I wouldn't be surprised if you get a letter stating you to change your data habits within 6 months.
     
  17. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Hahaha, you guys are funny. You have no idea what Sprint will do to keep a customer. Even though y'all are interested in this number and not the issue, I will indulge the curiosity. Recently when they changed the plan regarding additional lines I threatened to leave (since I can break contract without penalty when they change the terms), they gave me the difference and that was that. This is not even the highest I have gone and I have been doing this for over 2 years. Hopefully the screenshot gets attached. Yes, I tether.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    13,054
    Frankly, the only answer to your question on an unrooted device is to use less data. You'd probably be doing everyone near you using Sprint a favor as well.
     
  19. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    My device is rooted, so I think you might be hinting at a custom rom. I eventually put different roms on my phones so this will most likely remove that alert. I still think they should have the option to turn off the alert.
     
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    13,054
    Actually you should be able to disable it. It's built into stock android as well as my HTC device. Samsung may have disabled that feature[​IMG]

    I assumed you werent rooted since its not in the rooting section. Sorry for assuming. You could flash a custom Rom, disable the usage tracker, or possibly clear its data depending on what's available for your device.
     
  21. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,305
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Edit: not really relevant
     
  22. Heisenberg123

    Heisenberg123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    74
    i try hard to use my 8GB a month and i can barely hit 2GB
     
  23. mikoal

    mikoal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey guys, i figured i'd jump in here too.
    Since its about data usage, cycle, and graphs, i have a couple of issues too.

    1) I was wondering if we can set the white lines to show the billing cycle by default instead of the last 7 days only?

    2) my data usage reset on me a couple of times without me doing anything. I have a theory that there is a "lag" of when you set your cycle and when the resets happen.
    So if you initially have set on the 15th, then you change to the 1st.
    And if its the 13th today. I think there is a reset on the 15th, then it goes to your new billing cycle.
    This is just a theory, im not 100% sure. Can someone verify this?
    If this is true, how can i make it instant instead of the delay?

    edit: of course without using another app or rom's data usage. with the default stock one
     
  24. jackroo

    jackroo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    157
    Damn that is a lot of data...
     
  25. mikoal

    mikoal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2

Share This Page

Loading...