• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [AT&T] Did I just brick my new LG G2 ?

adt2

Nov 27, 2012
Okay, so I'll be the first to admit, I'm relatively new to Android and extremely new to rooting and all it entails. That having been said, I recently bought an LG G2 to replace a Nexus 5 that suffered an accident, and quite frankly I don't care for the G2. LG's software blows, the phone is just slightly too big to be used with one hand, and the back is so slippery it's hard to hold.

Doing my best to remedy one of those problems, I decided to root it and try to install stock Android so the phone would at least behave like my Nexus 5. Got it rooted okay (at least according to the root checker app), but was never able to get any kind of recovery installed on it AFAIK (tried several walk-throughs, but none of them were successful).

This morning, I get a notification that there's a software update available, and I hit okay, and shortly thereafter I get the LG logo followed by some tiny white text at the top left corner of the screen - something about a boot error and/or boot certification verify / secure boot error, and then the screen goes blank and that's that.

I've tried hard resetting (volume down+power button, release power button at LG logo, press power button again, and select "Factory Reset") and I get the same error. I've tried holding the volume up button and plugging the phone in to my PC to put it in download mode and nothing at all happens (no error, no download mode, nada).

Any ideas here? I have no problem factory resetting this sucker, as all of my data is backed up elsewhere...but I need to do something to bring it back to life. Or am I just screwed?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Reactions: houssem1198