does hero come with micro sd card


Last Updated:

  1. gaanrowl

    gaanrowl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    as title says,phone is on orange network. cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    Yup, 2GB.
     
  3. gaanrowl

    gaanrowl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    is this big enough??
     
  4. beamer

    beamer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should know, if it is. 16 Gb flashcard is max. I bought the fastest micro sdhc I could find, 16 Gb from sandisk. There follows an usb-adapter, so you can use the old 2 Gb as a tiny usb-key. It is so small that it can be smugled into any prison in the ear, per example. Note that there are directories and a pdf-manual on the 2 Gb card from htc, some mp3-samples too.
     
  5. gaanrowl

    gaanrowl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorr y i should have been a bit clearer are the apps etc stored ion the memory card or is it just used for music etc?
     
  6. harlequin1963

    harlequin1963 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    HTC's own FAQ answers that for you @ HTC - Support - HTC Hero - FAQs

    Can I install applications to my microSD card?


    Currently programs can only be installed on the devices internal storage.
     
  7. beamer

    beamer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. mark1252003

    mark1252003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    8 GB with mine from Orange UK
     
  9. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    2GB for mine.

    Bought myself an 8GB C6 though :D
     
  10. MarDoubleT

    MarDoubleT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1
     
  11. gaanrowl

    gaanrowl Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers peoples bought a 8gb c6. is the supplies card a c6?
     
  12. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,522
    Likes Received:
    3,178
    normally it ships with 2gb... dont know the class of it

    it will accept 32gb max! Cant be found anywhere yet!

    all apps are stored internal memory and your personal data can be stored on SD card.
    the faster the card (ie. class 6) the better for your reaction time.

    Only you can answer if 2gb is enough, or what size your want to put in!

    You can create a Swap fine to help move some apps to the SD card, but that requires you:
    - Root your phone
    - load a custom ROM (ie.. MoDaco)
    - Setup Apps2sd program
    - there will be 3 partitions on your SDcard:
    1. for your data
    2. for memory management by android for running apps
    3. for swap storage of loaded apps, which android will decided how to use it
    *** this is still debated as to the benefits and performance you might or might not get from creating a Swap file.

    if interested.. do a little search.. and you will find tons of guides and information!
     
  13. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,162
    Likes Received:
    15,870
    A swap file/partition doesn't have anything to do with Apps2SD. ;)

    Not quite.

    A FAT32 partition is always required on the SD card for user data. If using Apps2SD then a second ext2/3/4 partition is required for that i.e. to install the apps to. A third linux-swap partition is required if using a swap partition. If using a swap file then no additional partition is needed.

    @OP: my Hero shipped with a 2GB Transcend card. It's unmarked so presumably Class 2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...