• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Download from Google Play

ronyzmbow

Mar 20, 2013
This is a complete novice question - a specific application - Igo Primo

will be available next week for free download for 2 days only. I am about to get a new smartphone (Samsung Xcover 2) only few days later.

Can it be dowloaded into a PC and installed later in my the new phone?

Can it be downloaded into a MicroSD card in a friends phone and later the same card will be in new phone - will it work?

Is there another way to do it? or in other words - is there a way to download an aplication before you have the device to use it?

Another question - I own a Samsung Galaxy WiFi 5 mini tablet. This device appears in my Google Play web site when I log in. How do I add a new device into the Google Play when I'll get it?

1. No you can't download it to a PC, but if you get it NOW for your Galaxy WiFi 5, you can download it for free as well on your new device AFAIK.

2. The application downloads are "account specific", not device specific. Meaning when you log in to Google on your new phone (make sure you use the same account on your Galaxy 5 and the new phone), Play Store will detect both your devices. Also if you buy an app for one device, it becomes available for free download for all devices because as I said, applications are "account specific", meaning if you used a certain account to buy an app, it becomes bought for all apps available on that account.

Reactions: ronyzmbow
Upvote 0
As for 1 - the problem is that this application works only with the new Galaxy Xcover 2 which I will get only AFTER the free offer is valid..
Any idea how to get it?
Can I use the MicroSD card from my WiFi 5 in a friend smartphone and later insert it in my new Galaxy phone and use the application?

Upvote 0