Duplicate Contact Info


Last Updated:

  1. BigTime_1976

    BigTime_1976 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seen a lot of questions on it, but no answers. I swapped out a broken phone for a new one of the same model (Sony Xperia X10), and now I have a Phone Contact, and a Google synced contact for all my entries. How do I clean this up without going thru the whole list and manually editing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kmf

    kmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    72
    Depends on which contacts you wish to display, but if you want to hide the Google contacts, you can click your Contacts button>Menu>More>Display Options>Choose contacts to display>Google and uncheck anything regarding Google. I've had the same problem with new phones and updates.
     
  3. BigTime_1976

    BigTime_1976 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would prefer to be rid of the phone contacts, as I like the syncing with google
     
  4. Sycobob

    Sycobob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    22
    On my Photon running Gingerbread I can hit menu while in the contacts list and choose which contacts to show. You could choose to show only Google contacts if you wish.

    Alternatively, if you feel like spending a few minutes on it (won't take long) you can merge the duplicates. Just start editing a contact, hit menu, choose join, choose the duplicate. This guarantees you have all the right info.

    Personally, I synced with my Facebook friends and merged my Google contacts with them, then chose to hide all contacts without phone numbers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...