Error 170


Last Updated:

  1. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    24
    I searched the forums and there are no clear answer to the error 170 on the Sprint HTC Hero, so I am hopping that someone can help me. My son flashed his Hero to the 2.1 ROM from Download: CDMA Hero Android 2.1 – v1.8-7 Eclair [BETA] Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero and now we can't recover to the stock 1.5 ROM due to the error 170, we updated HTC sync and it does not reads or registers the hero either. Does anyone has a solution to this? we tried the RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_1.56.651.2_signed_release and other ROM with negative results.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    go to the link in my sig
     
  3. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    24

    I searched the site before, since that's where he got the 2.1 ROM and found no solution. thanks
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    it tell you how to get aound the error 170 right there with the download link for the RUU 1.56.
     
  5. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    24

    Are you talking about Hboot? I tried that as well with negative results I even moved the usb cable just in case
     
  6. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    Possible resolutions would be:
    1) Putting it in to fast boot and trying it again. Check your error log if it fails and seeing if it identified your phone this time.
    2) Open a command prompt and "cd" to the folder where your \sdk\tools\ folder and type in "adb devices" and hit enter and see if it sees your phone. If not then that's your problem. If it DOES see your phone then enter the following command
    3) adb shell reboot oem-78 -- that will reboot your phone in to RUU-ready fastboot. If you had the RUU still open then close it. Then open it and try running again
     
  7. IRepTheKing

    IRepTheKing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    First of all, I'm not a techie, I just got lucky...

    What worked for me is taking out the SD CARD.
    Connect USB.
    Turned off the power, then held VOL DWN & POWER.
    When bootloader starts, click on CLEAR STORAGE.
    After that click on FASTBOOT.
    Then on your PC, run the RUU_Supersonic_1.47.651.1_Radio_2.05.00.06.10_release_CL195459
    *worked like a charm. I'm now on a updated unrooted Evo.
    Hope this helps...

    Note: The earlier versions of the RUU didn't work for me since I had a rooted 1.47 Evo. This only worked when I used the 1.47 version.
     
    insink71 and Jo The Veteran like this.

Share This Page

Loading...