EVO 1080p Output Problems?


Last Updated:

  1. blozout

    blozout Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    48

    Advertisement
  2. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    that is a mistake the evo will only output to 720p not 1080p
     
  3. blozout

    blozout Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    48
    Ok, I'm fine with the 720P, but what of the 480P only issue? Has anyone with an EVO on these forums tested the video output via HDMI yet?

    I would hate to only get 480P output to my HDTV.
     
  4. apollooff320

    apollooff320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    28
    weren't they the ones that recorded video in sup HD and put the content on a high def TV and complained it wouldn't show as 720p? There's the reason.
     
  5. beoti

    beoti Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    15
    Maybe somebody can clarify this, but I was reading somewhere that the problem may lie with the HDMI 1.4 connectivity and televisions that have chipsets with older gen (1.3 and lower) HDMI support. I don't know where the article is that I was reading so I may just be talking out of my rear.

    There is another thread suggesting PC Mag did not use the correct output, but this article was suggesting that some televisions HDMI ports will not properly support the connectivity.

    Anybody have some links, clarifications, understanding on how this works?
     
  6. Clock

    Clock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    70
    I'm at the point where I'm going to ignore commentary on the subject unless it comes from a reputable site.

    The EVO doesn't even support 1080p.

    PCMag was using a 480p file on different TVs and we have no idea what the bitrate was.

    Wake me up when Engadget or Anand comment on this. Until then, I'll just wait to check it out for myself.
     
    mrk, aliveon2legs and jmxp69 like this.
  7. RaiseUp151z

    RaiseUp151z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    32
    HDMI 1.4 is backward compatible so your TV with 1.3 should have no problem you just won't be able to use the new features that 1.4 has ....Ethernet, Audio Return and either 2x or 4x resolution, depending on bit rate.

    PC Mag has lost it's credibility if it had any to start with...
     
  8. Jordus

    Jordus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    70
    repost
     
  9. blozout

    blozout Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    48
    Sorry if this was already posted. I did a quick search but couldn't find anything. Maybe it was because I mistakingly searched under 1080p as per the articles I read.
     
  10. djdamjano

    djdamjano New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    I just purchased the HDMI cable for evo, and I think (that
     
  11. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    If the monitors highest resolution is 480p then whatever is sent in will be converted to 480p.

    __
    Thumbed wirelessly from my HTC EVO 4G thru Sprint PCS. Please excuse any typos.
     
  12. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    85
    I get 720p output with my EVO, even with 480p content.
     
  13. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    65
    How does it work specifically? Does the video just start automatically outputting through HDMI when you plug it in, or is there a option you have to set?

    Also, what is the highest quality Evo playable format I can put on there? I don't know what format/setting is the best.
     
  14. seigex

    seigex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    59
    basically you plug it in (i had to reboot once the first time) and a little HDMI logo will pop up on the top left of the upper status bar... then everything will happen through your phone.. until video outputs all your youtube (for example) controls will still be on the evo.. but the video will display on the TV ...

    keep in mind more stuff will be coming out for this since developers are pretty much given full control of the HDMI port for their applications (maybe even for gaming?)
     
  15. ajkron

    ajkron Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    so the evo is capable of upconverting? for some reason that doesnt sound right
     

Share This Page

Loading...