• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root formatting system?

New Rising

Android Enthusiast
Jul 7, 2011
I have never done this before flashing a rom, should i be? I've read that you should format your system in cwr before flashing a rom. I just do the usual wipe data/cache/dalvik in safestrap and have never had any problems. What does formatting do?

Thanks

Every developer states to format /system from the 'mounts & storage' section of recovery. If you choose to ignore this expert advice, please don't come back with complaints about the rom. Formatting /system clears out the existing operating system so that there are no remnants remaining when the new operating system is put into place.

Reactions: New Rising
Upvote 0
Every developer states to format /system from the 'mounts & storage' section of recovery. If you choose to ignore this expert advice, please don't come back with complaints about the rom. Formatting /system clears out the existing operating system so that there are no remnants remaining when the new operating system is put into place.

Not every developer states to do this in there install instructions.

I have never done this before flashing a rom, should i be? I've read that you should format your system in cwr before flashing a rom. I just do the usual wipe data/cache/dalvik in safestrap and have never had any problems. What does formatting do?

Thanks

It's a good thing to do especially if the developer tells you to in there install instructions but I think most developers have the rom wipe system as part of the install. I always do it whenever I install a new rom just to be on the safe side.

Reactions: New Rising
Upvote 0
It really depends on the ROM. On the CM9 and AOKP builds from dhacker, you shouldn't wipe system. It has a special script that saves the GApps and restores them.