Frustrated with rooting 2.1 update 1


Last Updated:

  1. jigarmuni

    jigarmuni Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys... i have a stock milestone 2.1 update 1. I have searched and read everything from youtube, google, forums..etc..etc.. to root the current firmware or even downgrade to 2.0.1 to enable me to root.... but unfortunately nothing is working.

    Please my phone memory is full of applications and I need root to get good games and applications transfered to my sd card.

    Please suggest how to downgrade from 2.1.update 1 (unrooted) or even to root 2.1 update 1. - I have tried methods applicable for droid but i think droid and milestone have different methods??

    Please suggest.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Coosh

    Coosh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. jigarmuni

    jigarmuni Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    COOSH COOSH COOSH COOSH COOSH.... thanks so much .... after 5 days of effort finally i rooted my phone..! I think i was making a silly mistake of renaming the update file to update.zip..... i mean how stupid was that..!

    Read thru the link u provided got a hint from there and renamed just as update!!! pheww.... this was one long haul... thanks again buddy.
     
  4. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35

    The file still is called update.zip. Your pc has extensions hidden (which is default for windows). So when you renamed your update.zip it was renaming it to update.zip.zip because you couldn't see the extension. ;)

    Glad you finally got root.. feels good doesn't it :p
     
  5. jigarmuni

    jigarmuni Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    haha yes... but facing another problem now, cant take a backup of my current rom.... adb doesnt grant permission (although the phone is rooting) in cmd.

    so i am extremley scared to load custom roms, until i cant take back up of my current rom... any suggestions?
     
  6. ashketchum

    ashketchum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    35
    Make sure your phone's screen is on and unlocked when you use the "su" command in adb for the first time and you will see a prompt from the Superuser app using which you can allow "su" permissions to adb.
     
  7. jigarmuni

    jigarmuni Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done that, but in vain....
     
  8. ashketchum

    ashketchum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    35
  9. jigarmuni

    jigarmuni Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    thanks bud, I am a happy root user :))) , although I still find it difficult to load custom roms...!!!!! nevertheless will figure it out looking at some youtube videos.

    thanks a ton again.
     
  10. Cemeteryman

    Cemeteryman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I just bought a Motorola Droid Firmware Version 2.1 Update1. Can I root with the 2.1 Update1 installed or do I need to downgrade the the Firmware?

    Thank you,

    John
     
  11. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
  12. impruv

    impruv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or the oneclick root for milestone is now supported by EasyRoot.
    There's an app in the market called EasyRoot Compatability and once installed will tell you if you can root your phone with easyroot.

    Simplest way to root Milestone at this point
     

Share This Page

Loading...