• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Good Anti-Virus Software and Doctor Who apps?

Alright, so, I'm a huge doctor who fan and would like some good wallpaper/ringtone/just overall fun apps for the show. Problem is, I know this is where lots of spyware and viruses like to hide, so I was wondering if you guys had any recommendations?

Second, I need a good anti-virus on my phone (A HTC one with the Google play store) I downloaded one, but it was asking for a huge amount of privileges, so I backed out.

I heard Lookout was good, any ideas?

Thanks guys.

Curious surely smartphones require AV / firewalls etc as really they are handheld computers which are vulnerable.
Surfing the internet and accessing certain websites can screw with your PC, so surely smartphone is no different

Surely you are wrong. If you download approved apps and are smart when browsing the web there is no reason to run an A/V on an android device. All it does it take up resources. A smart phone is different.

Upvote 0
Curious surely smartphones require AV / firewalls etc as really they are handheld computers which are vulnerable.
Surfing the internet and accessing certain websites can screw with your PC, so surely smartphone is no different

Both right and wrong.

1. You are right that smartphones are handheld computers

2. You are wrong that browsing the web can get you viruses that screw up the phone.