goog overclock app/widget


Last Updated:

  1. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    hey guys, I finally jumped on the wagon to rooting. I havnt yet found a new ROM to go with, so im still playing around with some things on launcherpro, one of which being the overclocking capability. I tried "overclock widget" from the market, but it doesnt seem to allow me to go above 528. can someone either recommend a good overclocking program or give me a hand getting this one working? thanks!

    *edit* in the settings there is a "clock here to define" option. is this what i want to use to allow me to increase the speed?
     

    Advertisement
  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You can't overclock the stock kernel, you are going to have to flash a new rom first. Find a rom that you can overclock
     
  3. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    cool thanks for the fast response. im really new to all this
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If you like the Sense UI, try ZenEXP 0.9.7 (link is on first page)
    If you want to try AOSP roms try DarchDroid 2.8 or Froyo rom RC1

    Each one of these roms, you will have to flash the rom first and let it boot first then you can apply an overclock zip. Then try overclock widget or setcpu from the market

    Have fun and let us know how it goes!!
     
  5. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    im not sure if this is the place for it but since its my thread, i guess its not "highjacking" per se, but i keep reading "do a nandroid backup!" for everything before you load any ROMs. Would you mind explaining how it works and how/what i need to backup before I flash a rom? thanks
     
  6. Thorin10

    Thorin10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1

    A nandroid backup backs up everything on your phone currently. Its done through the recovery boot screen. Once you have done a nandroid, you simply wipe your phone, and then install a new rom. All of this is done though the recovery screen.

    If what I've explained doesnt make sense then I suggest doing a lot more research and reading before attempting anything. It took me a long time reading this and that before I was comfortable rooting my phone and then another several days before I tried a new rom.

    Of course since then I've become a bit of a rom junkie. :) I seem to be flashing a new rom just about every other day.
     
  7. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    how do i get nandroid? not seeing it in the market and seems to be a few different versions from a google search. Also, how do i get into recovery mode to make the backup
     
  8. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    It's an exact, restorable image of your phone that you can revert to if something goes wrong and you have to get yourself out of a jam, or maybe you just don't like a ROM you've just flashed and want to go back to your last one without having to spend time manually reinstalling all your apps and settings one at a time.

    This posts gives you a step by step walk through:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ck-2-2-phone-now-available-3.html#post1458309
     
    chawski likes this.
  9. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    *edit
    When i hit the down arrows to scroll, im not getting anything. any idea what could be going on?


    Edit again
    I think ive got it
     
  10. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    cool ive got the nandroid done! making some baby steps haha

    I just DL'd the .zip file for cyanogenmod6 to my computer. would someone mind giving me a walkthrough of wiping the phone and flashing CM6?
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Before you flash the cm6, you must have the gapps (market, gmail...) on your sd card ready to flash.

    Boot into recovery, wipe data, cache and davlik cache. Then install zip from your sd card. You will see the white htc screen for 30-60 seconds, then see the cyanogenmod screen with the lightening going around, could take up to 10 min to boot up so be patient.

    Report back let us know:)
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    After phone boots up, then you will have to flash the gapps zip to get the market, gmail,....
     
  13. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    thanks so much man! I really appreciate your help! Im not sure if i will be able to get to it today but i will definately post back and let you know how it works
     
  14. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    sorry to be a pita, but again searching for gapps is coming up with a ton of versions. Would you mind posting a link for the correct one to use (sprint htc hero)

    *edit
    Is gapps just the google adon on the dl site? for some reason im getting an error 404 when i click the link
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    chawski likes this.
  16. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    thanks man. or for starters, nandroid saved my ass haha. The "system" file and META-INF" file i tried to open from my sd card apparently were empty and my phone couldnt find the file. restored and 5-10 minutes later, i had my phone back. not sure what was going on but ill give it another try later on tonight.

    The CM6 zip and the gapps zip had some of the same files. not sure whats going on there. also, when i click on the .zips from my downloads link, i get a few folders opening. do i need them all?
     
  17. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    in business with Froyo! Thanks Andygu and Umninchu! couldnt have done it without you guys!
     
  18. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to root my HTC sprint hero 2.1 and I have gotten to step #9 .2 and when I copy and paste adb devices I get 'adb' is not a recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. Can anyone help me with this problem so I and move forward and get out of 2.1 hell
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    You may want to open a new thread dedicated to your issue, it has nothing to do with the thread and you will most likely get a quicker response in another thread, and post your Rom and set up and someone will help you.


     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    +1 and if your using ADb to root....you are working to hard.
    Try Z4Root in the market - one click root.
     
    edivens likes this.
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    And if you used the Universal Androot one click, you can still use this one to unroot your phone, so works for both, which is nice since the Universal Androot is no longer in the market
     
    edivens likes this.
  22. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried Z4root but my phone just stayes on the blue screen and does nothing
     
  23. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    If you're using Windows, when you open the command line, you want your first entry to be an old DOS command that will get you into the Android SDK tools folder. Locate where the Android SDK is stored on your hard drive. The tools folder is a subfolder of the SDK. For example, on my PC, my first command line entry would read:

    cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    Your PC should respond by returning the path to the SDK, followed by the blinking underscore cursor. Once you're in the tools folder, the copy/pasted adb syntax will be recognized as valid commands.
     
    edivens likes this.
  24. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured that out just know but know I'm have trouble with step 9 # 7 to the part were they ask Now, on your phone, go to your app tray, and you will see that the Superuser Permissions app is in it.
    Open the Superuser Permissions app. You will see a blank screen. I dont have that app on my phone so I went to setting / about phone / software and my phone shows 2.31.651.7 cl258838 release-keys there is no bold 6 so what can I do from here? Did I install the new software and i now can not root my phone. Please help me I thought I was so close to rooting my phone. Let me know if there is anything I can do Thanks
     
  25. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    First, I agree with the posts that suggest a new thread, which you've already started. So lets stop hijacking this thread and go to your other thread for this topic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...