• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Google Nexus 5 use in Europe

I am going to buy a Google Nexus 5 (Sprint USA) and plan on using it in Spain during March. I will be staying at rental apartments where there will be no phone and I will need to make calls within Spain and, if necessary to USA, on occasion. I will have ample WiFi for my tablet so simple voice calls on the N5 is all I need.
Is there anything special I need to do to use a Sim card purchased in Spain for the purposes I mentioned? Any recommendations where to purchase one in Madrid?

I am not a real savvy mobile phone user so any tips or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I go to Germany frequently, but I have no experience in Spain. Europe in general has great rates for pay-as-you go SIMs. I would expect that you can get a SIM loaded with the money that you paid for it. So basically free. Calls and texts in Spain should be pennies, but data costs are likely to be expensive.

For free calls (on Wi-Fi) to US phone numbers, I use Google Voice and GrooveIP.

Reactions: NaterTots and kgash
Upvote 0
I go to Germany frequently, but I have no experience in Spain. Europe in general has great rates for pay-as-you go SIMs. I would expect that you can get a SIM loaded with the money that you paid for it. So basically free. Calls and texts in Spain should be pennies, but data costs are likely to be expensive.

Thanks, that gives me confidence to bring the phone to Spain.

Upvote 0
Thanks, that gives me confidence to bring the phone to Spain.

No Problem.