Has anyone sent an MMS message yet?Support


Last Updated:

  1. celios

    celios Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm on Vodafone UK and it won't send MMS messages.

    I attach a picture to a message, add a subject and when I send, it just sits there with the envelope next to it and it never gets sent.

    There is a "VF UK MMS" APN set up, but how do I tell the messaging app to use it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dayzee

    Dayzee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on TMobile and Ive sent lots of MMS - in fact, been really pleased with the fact that my milestone automatically connects to Network when I'm on wifi at home to send the MMS and also to recieve them. My hero used to let messages just sit there, unless I switched off wifi.

    I do think it sounds like an APN problem - might be worth googling around to see if there are different settings you could try.

    As far as switching to the MMS APN, as I understand things (certainly on TMobile) the server address is actually the same, the MMS just goes to a slightly different part, so it doesn't really need to switch connections from the one it uses for internet.
     
  3. deadite66

    deadite66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    6
    the built in APN may be wrong, it was for o2 payg.
     
  4. inaroundroom

    inaroundroom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Aus I have two APN's one for standard data which is named "default" and the one for MMS is named "MMS" each contain different configuration information.

    Have a search around on the tinternet and you will find all the correct settings for vodafone, note that you will need android configuration details and not anything specific to Milestone.
     
  5. KiwiCraig

    KiwiCraig New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I had the same problem.

    Vodaphone wireless help desk team told me it was not possible to connect my device (Motorola Milestone) as it was not 'approved'.

    I found the correct Vodaphone (in my case Vodaphone New Zealand) settings which I installed in a new APN at the following very useful site.

    Good luck!

    Carrier Network Settings [Android on HTC]









     
  6. celios

    celios Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've done a bit of research and the default settings that showed up look right - they match what is around on the web for Vodafone MMS - this figures as my previous phone (N97) worked fine with MMS and it used the same settings that were pre-loaded on the SIM.

    I've found numerous reports of Anrdoid devices (of many types - Hero, Magic, DEXT and Milestone) having problems with Vodafone UK and O2.

    Since Voda are launching the Nexus One in the UK, I expect this problem to suddenly go away after the N1 launches and Android 2.1 is available for the Milestone.

    I think there may be a problem with the MMS implementation in Android and the configuration that Vodafone UK use for MMS.

    TBH, it's not a big problem, I probably send about 4-5 MMSes a year and now I'll just attach a photo to an email and send that instead.
     
  7. ratcom

    ratcom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    the vodafone setting in the apn files are all wrong....

    go to the apn setting and delete all of them except the mms one. Then delete the mms setting where it says apn type "mms".
    Reset and you are done

    e.g.
    Name: Vodafone MMS
    APN: wap.vodafone.co.uk
    Username: wap
    Password: wap
    MMSC: http://mms.vodafone.co.uk/servlets/mms
    MMS Proxy: 212.183.137.012
    MMS Port: 8799
    APN type: <not set>

    this will work for both internet and mms :)
     
  8. celios

    celios Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried it, can still use data OK (email, web, etc), but doesn't work for sending MMS. :(

    Do you have a Milestone on Vodafone that is working?
     
  9. ratcom

    ratcom Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no sorry I'm a hero user :(
     
  10. celios

    celios Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, a lot of the Hero users seem to have problems too!

    http://androidforums.com/htc-hero/7776-mms-vodafone.html

    Many people report that changing to a different firmware allows them to send messages on other handsets, so we'll see if the 2.0.1 Milestone update improves matters.

    It's not a biggie for me, but for people who use MMS as lot, it could be a showstopper.
     
  11. Unimaginative

    Unimaginative Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problems on Vodafone AUS sending/receiving MMS. Used APN settings from my HTC Magic and went off without a hitch.

    Are you getting that 'PXT' notice when you receive an MMS on Voda? I got that when I first ported to Vodafone. Turns out either they or my previous telco borked my transition so instead of getting the MMS delivered to my phone I'd get an SMS directing me to a website I could view it. Which sucked.
     
  12. celios

    celios Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    No, I receive messages fine - they show up in the messaging app and the images, etc download automatically. When I send one it just doesn't do anything. Eventually, after an hour or so it times out with an error.
     

Share This Page

Loading...