having problems rooting sprint hero


Last Updated:

  1. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    i downloaded the instantroot.apx and when i run it in from the root of my sd card it installs but then it says root failed. am i doing something wrong? the directions seemed pretty straight forward...
     

    Advertisement
  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Umm, I believe you may have been mistaken.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/38911-guide-root-rom-faq-tutorial.html

    That is the Sprint CDMA HTC Hero rooting guide. Follow the directions precisely as written and you should run into no issues at all. Good luck trooper!
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    Not familiar with that method. Do you have a Sprint CDMA Hero ? Which guide are you following?
     
  4. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    thanks, i will try that guide when i get home..im looking now and i dont see where i got that info from lol..oh well i guess its better that way...

    what rom is best to use to load 2.1?
     
  5. ejpyle

    ejpyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6


    This is the latest

    recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2
     
  6. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    oh ok...where did i read something about villain 5.3?? i must be going nuts lol..
     
  7. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Villain is for GSM heros! If you have Sprint you have a CDM hero. DO NOT use Villain unless you want your hero to become a paper weight.
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    villain is for the gsm hero. (the one they sell in europe) You can't flash anything gsm to a cdma hero or you will own an expensive paperweight.

    EDIT
    Wow, JB, I read your mind. lol
     
  9. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    ahh ok i understand now...thats where i got that root info from my first post..it said to copy a file to the sd card and install...

    thanks for the info...is it easier to root manually or with kitchen?

    sorry for all the questions, but i'm a n00b when it comes to rooting phones :D

    **edit**

    i noticed that there a few different versions..some have carebears on it..is that the only difference? are they they exact same thing otherwise?
     

Share This Page

Loading...