• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

help update from 1.0 to 2.2

K

kiddykoff

I actually posted this in the updates and cupcakes board, but i was told this board would be better.

So i'm new to this android scene, but i'm ready to dive in. I just want to make sure of some things before i brick my phone.

I got this phone from my sister and hasn't been used in a long time. It's running now, but the firmware is out of date

Model number:
T-Mobile G1
Firmware version:
Baseband version:
62.33.20.08H_1.22.12.29
Kernel version:
2.6.25-01843-gfea26b0 android-build@apa27 #6
Build number:
kila-user 1.0 TC4-RC29 115247 ota-rel-keys,release-keys

i was going to follow these instructions for updating to Froyo. [ROM][BBQ] CyanogenMod-6 for Dream & Magic - V6.0.0 (08/28/2010) - xda-developers
but they are a bit confusing.

I guess i have to install a boot loader, CyanogenMod 6.0.0-DS and i'm following these instructions
Dream:Installing CyanogenMod 5+ - CyanogenMod Wiki

i downloaded
latest CyanogenMod ROM: update-cm-6.0.0-DS-signed
latest EBI1 kernel: bc-4.2.15.1-ebi1-signed
latest Google Apps: gapps-ds-ERE36B-signed

my question is that it says to copy them as update.zip to the root of the phone. but there are 3 of them. How can they all be named as the same, but at the root of sd card?

can someone clarify this for me. or tell me i'm doing something wrong

also, what are the benefits of rooting a phone? i know that it has to do with permissions, but what permissions am i missing as a non-sudo user?

well to be honest, i don't know what i want. I just know that i'm unable download things from the market and i guess it has to do with not having the latest firmware. (i guess this could be coming from experience of not wanting to update my firmware on my ps3.)

If i want to update to 2.1, is there a set of instructions that could be recommended for a beginner?

any other suggestions are welcome.

Upvote 0