• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help with Wi-Fi variables

Hello Everyone!

I just registered, and this is my first post. Please bear with me if I seem too much like the novice I am, and do not be afraid to correct me if you feel I've overstepped any boundaries.

I am trying to create a profile which enables mobile data when certain apps are run, but only when wi-fi is not available. The enabling mobile data is easy, setting the condition that wi-fi must be disconnected is the tricky part.
I am a total novice to Tasker, I've only created a few very simple power saving features, so I don't know anything about variables. However, googling has hinted to me that I might need to use them to accomplish this.

Is anyone willing to take the trouble of guiding me through how I would set up the "enable Mobile Data" action so that it skips the action if wi-fi is connected? I'm afraid I have only my gratitude to offer in return.

Wi-Fi can be on, but if you're not in range it doesn't help.

So it's better to substitute
%WIFII ~ *connect*
In place of %WIFI ~ on

Then the condition is only satisfied when Wi-Fi is on and connected.

Note the extra I is intentional...it's a different variable: wifi information

Last edited:
Reactions: Thom
Upvote 0
so thanks for your effort, and sorry that I bothered you, I shouldn't have asked when I don't understand the answers at all
No worries. No harm to ask questions. Some people at some times enjoy being able to help or explain things. If people are too busy to answer, they won't. If they are interested in helping, they will.
Is anyone willing to take the trouble of guiding me through how I would set up the "enable Mobile Data" action so that it skips the action if wi-fi is connected?
Again, you simply have to test the condition %WIFII !~ *connect* to test if wifi is connected (don’t bother with testing %WIFI on or off in this case).