Hero won't connect to PCSupport


Last Updated:

  1. littlesaint

    littlesaint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm wanting to update my nine-month old hero to 2.1. I currently have 1.5 and have a branded Orange phone. I don't have the latest ROM update so needed to do this first via Sync. Only problem is that my PC has stopped recognising my phone.

    I have tried reinstalling the drivers and the latest version of Sync. I have also tried more than one USB and more than one USB port. I have turned my phone off and on and my computer off and on.

    I'm not convinced that it is a USB problem because when I turn the phone on when it is connected to the computer, it finds the phone at first but it says that the device has malfunctioned. It also says it can't find the driver and won't allow me to connect with the driver manually.

    Hope someone can help. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jimjim

    jimjim Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you using Windows XP?
     
    littlesaint likes this.
  3. littlesaint

    littlesaint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    No Vista.
     
  4. littlesaint

    littlesaint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried it on XP too. Still no luck - this time it picked up that I had connected my phone more easily but it said "unknown device".
     
  5. mIQ Live

    mIQ Live Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Actually seen a lot of Hero questions about this... If your trying to just backup your phone I would go to the market and just download a free backup app. Easier than using a USB anyways. (Won't matter what kind of comp. your using.)
     
    littlesaint likes this.
  6. littlesaint

    littlesaint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to update my Rom so that I can get 2.1 but it is not letting me.
     
  7. groggy

    groggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    4
    did you sort it?
     
    littlesaint likes this.
  8. noddle

    noddle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    2
    Me myself connected to a WiFi to upgrade to 2.1 and I also have problems connecting to some computers (but not my own) I think it might be win 7 that have been torrented because that's the only computer that does not pick me up. For a Vista computer I had to check the connection was on my phone before the it connected because it went onto charged at first and had to charge it thought the setting myselfto disk drive.
     
    littlesaint likes this.
  9. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Try pulling out the battery while the phone is on. Amazingly some people have suggested that fixes their problems with Sync connections. Not sure if you are supposed to do it while cononected to the PC or not - suggest you try both
     
    littlesaint likes this.
  10. littlesaint

    littlesaint Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm afraid I have tried many different thinks over the past month and have got nowhere. Orange says its a fault with the phone and would have to be fixed by HTC.

    I was wondering, would it be possible to sve the ROM update from the computer onto a micro SD and then upload it from there to bypass Sync altogether?
     
  11. Clark10

    Clark10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with my phone, it's back with HTC now being fixed, it seems to be a common problem on here, but none of the solutions worked for me.
     
  12. Peji

    Peji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bah, I would suggest trying it on another computer or at a friend's house. Or maybe try upgrading htc sync for both comp and hero.
     
  13. gizmo2705

    gizmo2705 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you have any joy with this? im having the same problem but iv tried it on many other computers and still no joy...
     

Share This Page

Loading...