• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hi! Waiting for Nexus 5 to arrive - SOOO excited

Hi my name is Linda and I'm SOOO excited! :D

My current phone is old; I'm currently grandfathered into Virgin Mobile's $25 / month plan which includes 300 min/month and unlimited text & data. Everyone is so amazed when I tell them what I pay per month. But it's a 2011 phone - LG Optimus V with a 3.2" screen, 320x480 screen resolution, 160 MB memory. The memory is the biggest drawback.

DEFINITELY needed a new one so I ORDERED A NEXUS 5 from Google Play. YAY! It should arrive this week.

I decided on the Nexus 5 in part because I heard that I can get a pre-paid, Bring Your Own Device plan with T-Mobile for $30/month (only 100 min/month, but I don't use that many talk minutes even now)

I saw a post here on androidforums - /t-mobile/820196-30-prepaid-plan-faq.html but it wasn't specific to Nexus 5, and I'm a complete noob to all of this.

Does anyone use the Nexus 5 on the $30/month T-Mobile prepaid plan? Would you be kind enough to help me through the steps of setting things up, once the N5 arrives?

THANK YOU! :)
Linda

Glad to have you on the forum lmurphy1 :)

The $30 T-Mobile FAQ post is for all GSM phones, including the Nexus 5. Did you buy a T-Mobile SIM card yet? If not, buy a Micro-SIM card here:
SIM Card details from T-Mobile

Instructions for activating with T-Mobile should be included in the package. Here is how to insert the SIM card into your Nexus 5:
https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/3473178

If you run into issues activating the folks in our T-Mobile forum can help, just post a question there:
T-Mobile - Android Forums

Hope you enjoy our site! :)

P.S. You can also find a forum for your Nexus 5 for specific info about the phone here:
Nexus 5 - Android Forums

Reactions: lmurphy1
Upvote 0