Horrible call quality


Last Updated:

  1. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just put BB 0.9 on my droid with Chevyno1 10 slot kernel. The call quality is horrible. Pandora radio sounds perfect through both speakers but when in a call the sounds crackles and sounds distorted. Please help this is extremely annoying.
     

    Advertisement
  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    try doing a PRL update by dialing:
    *22899
     
  3. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill try that. The call quality was perfect before I put BB 0.9. Now I can barely understand what someone is saying. Even my voicemail is very poor quality sound.
     
  4. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    i had a similar issue with the earpiece sounding crackly and full of static. lucky for me all i had to do was put my mouth over the earpiece and give i light suck of air (*no comments needed :) ) i guess there was a piece of debris on the speaker itself and it was resonating during sound projection.
     
  5. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well. Nothing has worked so far. I'm convinced its the kernel version or BB
     
  6. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
  7. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    will do. Thanks
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Also, you can dial ##PROGRAM

    Change the VOCODE to EVRC-B or 13K. That should result in a higher quality codec used to carry the sound.

    Oops, forgot to tell you the password. It's easy. 000000
     
  9. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did both of those. Made no difference. I still can barely make out what is being said through the earpiece
     
  10. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Have you tried restoring back to one of your previous ROMs?
     
  11. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not yet I will do that right now. I had BB 0.8 and it was perfect.
     
  12. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I restored back to BB 7.8 and its the same thing. I have no idea now...
     
  13. geezman

    geezman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you use Google Voice?
     
  14. carlz28

    carlz28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    I though EVRC-B was the higher quality?
    I know before I rooted I siwtched it to the -B option and my call quality was better, marginally, but better none-the-less.
    ???
     
  15. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Both EVRC-B and 13K are superior to the default setting, which is just plain ol' EVRC.
     
  16. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I do not.

    Still haven't figured it out...
     
  17. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    is there a reason the phones arent set to these by default?
     
  18. deathmonger87

    deathmonger87 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not all areas support EVRC-B so if you set that as your default and go into an area that only supports EVRC then you won't be able to make any calls. 13K is also the oldest technology and uses more bandwidth since it can't compress as well as EVRC.

    I just read up on this :)
     
  19. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now I can barely hear anything coming from the earpiece. Volume is all the way up. Does anyone know where I can get the stock 2.01 rom and kernel?
     
  20. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I think the easiest and fastest way would be using DM Updater to go back to Stock 2.01 (no root). I guess you want to exchange your phone (as I would)

    http://downloads.droidmod.org/dmupdater-10.apk
     
  21. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I run Scripts? Lol
     
  22. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    To run a script you need to go into a terminal emulator on your phone and just type the name of the script and hit enter.
     
  23. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I downloaded the dm updater and am downloading the 2.01 (no root). Will my warranty be good when i give them the phone back?
     
  24. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    It should be just like new. Just make sure that all your root related programs (like SetCPU) are gone. Just in case here is a link that shows how to do a hard factory reset after your go back to stock (probably not necessary but better safe than sorry)...

    http://www.ehow.com/how_5634169_hard-reset-motorola-droid.html
     
  25. NAFLASH

    NAFLASH Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went to the verizion store. They are mailing me a new droid! Yay
    Thanks everyone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...