How does the phone know it's in a dock/holder?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    So I got the ProClip mount for my Evo. I'm curious how the phone knows it's in a holder? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. JohnCL

    JohnCL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    With a magnet in the dock, that kicks it over to car/dock mode.
     
    Rambler358 likes this.
  3. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks! I thought magnets would hurt reception or other phone functions somehow, interesting...
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    from reading around in the accessory sub forum..there are pins in the usb...pins on the dock , the phone recognizes an extra ground in the dock tells the phone that it has been docked.

    there are some folks trying to figure out which pins do what but if i recall correctly the dock has one power wire...and two grounds... the extra ground is what is telling the phone it has been docked.


    some aftermarket usb cables also have the extra ground...and the phone gets confused and thinks it is in a dock.


    never once have i heard this is caused by magnets
     
  5. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    The ProClip holder for EVO I got doesn't have any pins on it:
    [​IMG]
    EDIT: And the phone's dock mode will activate without even a charger plugged in.
     
  6. JohnCL

    JohnCL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    The Droid 1 car dock does not have pins and it goes into car mode without a cable. The Droid 2 and Droid X docks have a connector, but the cable does not have to be used. Even without the cable it will go to car mode.
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    interesting (and i guess i really don't consider it a dock if it isn't plugged in .e. "docking")

    my mistake....i consider these "mounts" haha...

    so...who has an answer on how these mounts know? when I mount mine in my vent mounts and windsheild mounts it doesn't auto do anything special.

    is it really magnets? that just seems odd...UNLESS it is in fact a low strength magnet..that does something to the accelerometer ...but without effecting the compass ...hrmmmmmmm

    i love the proclip look btw...let me know what your overall impressions are
     
  8. JohnCL

    JohnCL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, it is talked about on Engadget, and various forums including Motorola forums.
     
  9. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've had the ProClip "mount" for almost a couple weeks now and like it a lot. Not exactly inexpensive, but a quality product with a "swede-like" covering that won't scratch the phone. It also holds the phone firmly in place, allows you to swivel the orientation, and has room for the phone with larger batteries and back covers.

    I actually took off the stock attachment holder - the part that attaches to a vent mount or such, and installed a RAM mount base. Had to drill a couple extra holes in the mount, but no biggie. This allows me to use and quickly switch between having the mount in either the car, or on my motorcycle. :)
     
  10. oldsmoboat

    oldsmoboat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Pro Clip mount and my phone doesn't go into "dock".
     
  11. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    Do you have it setup not to?
     
  12. oldsmoboat

    oldsmoboat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. sharonpta

    sharonpta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI, I purchased the same dock from ProClip, except mine slides into a power usb at the base. However it doesn't go into "docked" mode, even though I have that setup in settings. Are you saying that just sliding your phone into that felt covered holder with no power, puts your evo into "dock" mode?
     
  14. Rambler358

    Rambler358 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    12
    It does with mine. I do have Auto-Launch checked in the Dock settings though.

    Interesting that ProClip has more Evo mounts now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...