how to flash the radio update?


Last Updated:

  1. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded the newest radio update and i booted into clockworkmod and installed but when i went into about phone the radio version stayed the same.. please help
     

    Advertisement
  2. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    You don't install a radio in clockworkmod. You have to name it PB31IMG.ZIP, put it in root of sdcard, boot into HBOOT and it should install automatically and then allow you to reboot.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  3. djl236

    djl236 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8

    Take this advice, but make sure it is named PB31IMG.zip and NOT PB31IMG.zip.zip.....if you're Windows OS settings are set to hide known file extensions you won't see the .zip file extension.
     
  4. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i boot into hboot?
     
  5. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    nevermind got it thanks :)
     
  6. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont know if it worked though
     
  7. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah it didnt work
     
  8. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    are you S-OFF?
     
  9. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    If the file loads then it will ask you to hit the volume up button to agree to the update. After the update completes, (it should say "don't power off while updating") you will hit the vol up key again to reboot. If you don't get both those prompts you didn't install it.
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,534
    ^^That. Your SD card also needs to be FAT32 format to run the image file from hboot.
     
  11. welbinator

    welbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    44
    you get this working yet? Make sure you card is Fat32 like Iowa said, then go to www.unrevoked.com/forever you can't flash a radio update (atleast not easily) unless you are S-OFF. You can see if you are S-OFF when you're in hboot. if you've never been to the site I just posted then it should say S-ON which means your security is still on.
     
  12. chcoclate8175

    chcoclate8175 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having the problem where hboot wouldn't find the PB31IMG.zip as well, i looked at my sd card and it was formatted to FAT, not FAT 32. Backed up my sd card and reformatted into FAT 32, then restored my backup onto my card and ran the hboot sequence again. This time...great success!!! Thanks for the knowledge!
     
  13. jamala00

    jamala00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    69
    Why did Verizon update the Radio? correct me if I am wrong, but to me the Radio is one of those things that if it is not broke don't fix it... I know the same thing with some iPhone guys that jailbreak all the time. They update software but never update the Radio. I can update this Radio but is there any real reason to? Is anybody really noticing a difference. I think it could actually have the opposite effect on some, actually make things worse??
     
  14. Rob.G

    Rob.G Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    84
    There's no need to update the radio. Some say that it has improved their reception, while others say there was no change and in 1 case I saw a person said it made his reception worse. So if you are fine with how your phone is, then don't change the radio. If your having reception issues, you could try it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...