How to transfer contacts from HTC Touch to HTC Hero?

Last Updated:

1. thathrill

thathrill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi, I am new to the android forum and phones. I bought Touch by HTC when it was first released and now I absolutely hate this phone. So after some research I decided to join in and get the Hero. However, I was wondering how to transfer contacts from my winmo HTC Touch to a Hero? I have tried looking around but I can't find anything

Advertisement
  2. zombdroid

zombdroid Well-Known Member

If you have Microsoft Outlook, then use HTC Sync (can be found on HTC website) to sync them from your computer. That is what I did.

3. TF1984

TF1984 Well-Known Member

If you have MS Outlook THIS IS A BETTER SOLUTION:

Google "contacts from MS Outlook to Gmail" and follow instructions to export/copy your Outlook contact database to Gmail account. Then open phone settings>data Synchronization> google and set it up. This will automatically sync phone contacts with your Gmail contacts.

You can also set Gmail to automatically sync with desktop contacts and calender, very helpful and convenient.

4. T Mac

T Mac Well-Known Member

I agree, don't use HTC Sync. It sucks badly. Just go into MS outlook and to the file>export function. Export as file to a .csv to your desktop and then import that into google contacts in gmail. Your phone will then automatically sync this data once you set it up the first time.

5. thathrill

I guess the main problem that I am having is getting my contacts into MS Outlook from my phone. I have tried searching on the internet and I can't find how to pull my contacts from my phone into Outlook. I can't even find where windows mobile device center stores my contacts. My phone currently syncs with windows mobile device center for vista. Anyone have any ideas?

6. thathrill