1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How to trigger a media scan?


Last Updated:

  1. Jethro10

    Jethro10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,
    With a lot of apps eg, camera, pictures appears in the gallery immediatley,

    but some apps like Dropbox or blackmoon Attachsave, if you put a picture or MP3 or whatever on the card, they can not appear for ages.

    One way on my Galaxy Apollo is to plug in USB and go into storage mode, it then scans the disk (A little icon in the status bar) and the media is now there.

    A more extreme way is to unmount the card and then physically remove it and re-insert (I dont have to remove the battery) and it sets off a scan.

    Is there anyway to trigger a media scan from within android to make it quicker for stuff to appear?

    thanks
    Jeff
     

    Advertisement
  2. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    Power cycle the device...that should cause any of the new media to show up as well. Don't know of anything beyond that.
     
  3. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
  5. Medion

    Medion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    958
    Some media programs, like PowerAmp, will rescan folders their assigned to when you open the app.
     
  6. Jethro10

    Jethro10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    7
  7. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    34
    Apps that download media, such as Dropbox should force a media scan. It could be done by the Android client App performing a media scan after it has succesfully downloaded the file. It could be placed in the App settings as an option.

    The Android Gallery App should have an update button.

    They could do it the same way as Rescan Media by Adihja Talpade. I use this simple App to perform this task and it solves the problem.
     
  8. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    51
    First I have ever heard on media scan being desireadble...my vibrant does it and its a pain in the ass for the phone to take 3 minutes to find(the same) media files that my lesser phones could pull up after realizing an sd card was present
     
  9. lespaul

    lespaul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    wrong post -sorry :)
     
  10. raudi

    raudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    If there is a (possibly empty) file named ".nomedia" (without quotations, and make sure you put the dot as the first character) in a folder of your card, then this folder WILL NOT BE SCANNED (if there is a .nomedia in the root of the SD card, then the SD card will NOT be scanned).

    So make sure you delete any unwanted of those and then try
    "Rescan Media" by Aditya Talpade (android market)
     
  11. lepke1979

    lepke1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    If it was every time, I can see that being a problem. But sometimes you download a file and the file does not show up in music player or something...

    I came here looking for an application that can force a rescan (why it's not an option within the OS is beyond me), but one thing I would usually do is find the file in the file manager and rename it. It will then start a rescan. I then rename it back. Possible solution for those that don't want to download a program to force a rescan
     
  12. adaaaam

    adaaaam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    35
    Try taking a picture, usually does it for me
     
  13. shyguy6463

    shyguy6463 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my infuse 4g, I usually go into the stock touchwiz "my files" app, create a random folder, then delete it. It quickly triggers the media scanner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...