1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

How To: Turn 4G On-Off/Access Hidden MenusTips


Last Updated:

  1. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    For service code go to android - whiterabbit.org& where it says MEID/ESN enter your IMEI that you get from settings then about phone , it's going to give out a 6 digit MSL Code & remember this, you'll need it.

    1. To get the menu for the network select: Go to dialer and enter ##626* then enter 6 digit code that you got from above, then go to network select & then network mode and you get this menu PIC:http://db.tt/ckh3xgTV
    LTE Only - 4G Data only ----- no call or text
    CDMA+LTE/EvDo - 1x,3G,4G ----- call & text
    EvDO Only - 3G Data only ----- no call or text
    CDMA w/o EvDO - 1x ----- call & text
    CDMA/EvDO - 3G ----- call & text


    2. There's another hidden menu ##LGSERVICEMENU or ##5473784236368 the service code is the same 6 digit one from the top
    * there is something called GSM/UMTS settings in there idk if it can truly enable them though PIC:http://db.tt/WwCnZZgY PIC:http://db.tt/yV5pOd7U


    3. There's also ##786#
    "Which appears to let you reset the log of number of minutes used and data transmitted"

    *If you ran the debloat script it deleted your hidden menu, but can add back here http://androidforums.com/motion-4g-all-things-root/666329-re-add-hidden-menus.html
    ---------------------------------------------

    Well some things you may do with the hidden menu are:
    -Change Network mode : Turning off LTE may save battery life

    Field Tests - Check 4G Spectrum Bandwidth

    Semi-booting mode - Enable Semi-Booting mode (http://androidforums.com/motion-4g-all-things-root/661377-interesting-find.html)

    Network Lock - Change Network lock mode

    ICC Activation Setting - Make it where the phone still work even without the sim card

    -Hardware & Software Tests
    And more but I don't have this phone anymore

    *You can use this app to get the MSL https://play.google.com/store/apps/...xpY2VkbWVkaWEuYW5kcm9pZC5tZWlkY29udmVydGVyIl0
     

    Advertisement
    sasecho2, atodd6, PHP87 and 8 others like this.
  2. adanmex

    adanmex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    51
    what is this for
     
  3. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    The pictures @ the end of each shows what it does the 2 paragraph let's you select which network (LTE,EVDO,1x)
    Trying to figure out what the 1in the 3rd paragraph is
     
  4. aciulladev

    aciulladev Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    15
    ##lgservicemenu doesnt work for me..
     
  5. HereticSins

    HereticSins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    278
    Try this.
    ##5473784236368
    Than call.
     
  6. EagleOne64

    EagleOne64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    This isn't working for me. after i press ##626* i do get prompt for the MSL Code, but as soon as i put it, it just goes back to the dialer.
     
  7. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    try #2 but after you put the msl in go to IOT(CDG2) then system selection
     
  8. EagleOne64

    EagleOne64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1

    no dice, again get prompt, enter msl code and just goes back to dialer. Could it be because im rooted?
     
  9. ninjasinabag

    ninjasinabag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    164
    Did you use the lg motion debloat script? If so , it deleted the hidden menu. Try looking through your system apps, if there is no hidden menu apps than you are out of luck.
     
    EagleOne64 likes this.
  10. EagleOne64

    EagleOne64 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did use that debloat script. Thanks a lot bro. Any idea on how to get it back?
     
  11. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    Dial ##786# to get your IMEI and other info :smokingsomb:
    You may wish to include this in the OP.

    EDIT:
    Ah, I misread where you noted you can get it in your settings also. Cheers
     
  12. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    Awesome stuff, but I'm trying to figure out the use for it. I'm navigating the menu's and it all looks good. Will accessing these menu's allow a person to switch carriers? :)

    Perhaps you could give some links to some info?
     
  13. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Updated OP
     
  14. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    Possibly no one has tested it yet
     
  15. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    APN Settings appear to be under here: ##626* -> LTE Configuration
     
  16. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    One use that comes to mind is setting your Network to Not use LTE. This will make data transfer slower, but might significantly increase idle battery life?
     
  17. MotoTriumphant

    MotoTriumphant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    53
    After i put this number it says service code. What is it?
     
  18. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    It depends on your IMEI number.

    1. Get your IMEI in Settings > About Phone > Status
    2. Then go here android - whiterabbit.org
    3. Enter it in the box that reads "Enter 1 MEID/ESN"
    Then you'll have your service code.
     
  19. Muilisx

    Muilisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    182
    ##626*

    587846
     
    DirtyDee likes this.
  20. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    If that's your security code that you got from the website it only works for you & please edit and take that out
     
  21. Muilisx

    Muilisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    182
    Uhh no,

    that is the standard metropcs code that works on all metropcs phones. I always use it on other peoples phones when they tell me they are not receiving their texts, or texts take too long to come in. That code should work on any MetroPCS phone. It allows you to reprogram the phone on the network refreshing everything, hence usually fixing any slow data / no texts / slow texts etc..
     
  22. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    Interesting. It does bring up a menu, but it's a totally different menu, and only seems to have the options to change phone number, or apply sdcard update.
     
  23. Muilisx

    Muilisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    182
    Yes,

    you click on NAM Programming .

    Then you click on Edit

    Then, the first thing is MDN which contains your phone number, click ok

    Then you have the MIN which also contains your phone number, click ok

    Then you have SID which is normally 6503, but can differ based on location, click ok

    Now, hit Done

    The phone should reboot.

    Now, everything network wise is reset / refreshed.

    Just don't change anything.

    Feel free to do this very simple process if your data is acting weird, texts are slow, or you're not receiving texts at all. This can do wonders.
     
  24. Sepero

    Sepero Linux Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    563
    Do you happen to know the code for sprint, or where I can get it??? I have a friend having problems getting delayed txts with their phone.
     
  25. Muilisx

    Muilisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    182
    Negative, I do not.

    The Sprint codes can be completely different. The sequence to even get to that screen asking for the service code is most likely different. I would simply do a google search, I am sure the information your friend needs can be found.
     

Share This Page

Loading...