• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [International Tegra 3] HTC One X possibly bricked

psodsc

Lurker
Mar 3, 2013
Hi

I've been googling like mad for the past hour, and I've been unable to find a similar problem to the one I'm having, so apologies if I'm posting the 'same old question'.

So I tried to flash Cyanogenmod to my One X (international) today, and I couldn't get it to work. At first, it would get stuck on the CM loading screen, so I tried wiping the drive and starting again. I got the same problem, so I tried to wipe it 'properly'

I should probably add at this point, I'm a noob in the world of rooting and android. But after spending hours trying to get the phone to work, out of anger, I had a 'f*ck this, I'm starting again' moment. So using Clockworkmod I went through all the format options on the 'advanced' menu. And now it's worse than before. It just hangs on the HTC splash screen. I can't restore from my nandroid backup because I get an 'md5 mismatch and I can't install CM10; when I try I get 'Finding update package...opening update package' then ClockworkMod reboots.

Now I've found a lot of advice relating to adb and fastboot. But my device won't respond to either (I'm using ubuntu, but I could get access to a windows pc tomorrow if it would help).

I apologise for meddling with things I didn't understand, but if someone could tell me I haven't bricked my phone and that there's a fix, I'd be eternally grateful.

Thanks guys

No need to apologise! If you're flashing ROMs on a regular basis, this sort of thing is a common occurrence, it's just unfortunate you've experienced an issue on your first try. Fwiw, if you can get to recovery, I reckon you're recoverable. :)

Firstly, I need to know some things though. Can you tell me what version of clockwork you have installed and what your hboot version is?

Reactions: psodsc
Upvote 0