• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Avail 2] I have successfully rooted my wife's old Avail 2

So.. im complete newb to this. What would be the next step YOU would do?

i have no idea how to do what..

to be honest i havent noticed any difference yet.. am i able to uninstall entire programs? or does that just automatically happen when i remove them? is there a folder or something that i now have access to that i didn't before?

should i upgrade to a different ROM? (i believe that's kinda like going from windows XP to vista in the android world? lol)

im trying to have fun with this... experiment with her old phone before i attempt it on my new android. trying to learn a thing or two here

to be honest i havent noticed any difference yet..
You won't - since you haven't been running apps that need root, and that's all root does - allows programs that need it to run - nothing's changed yet.

am i able to uninstall entire programs? or does that just automatically happen when i remove them?
When you uninstall an app, you should first clear the app's cache and data (there are buttons there for that) then uninstall it. That removes the whole thing.

is there a folder or something that i now have access to that i didn't before?
Yes, all the systems folders. (From which you can completely destroy the firmware, kernel, etc.)

should i upgrade to a different ROM?
Is there one that has functions you want that the stock one doesn't - and doesn't leave out any from the stock ROM that you do want? (Most of what most people want to do can be done by installing apps, which sis a lot less dangerous than flashing a new ROM.)

(i believe that's kinda like going from windows XP to vista in the android world? lol)