• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root i need you help

DoubleEagle

Nov 13, 2010
Indiana
i need your advise. i got a DX about 2 weeks ago and started reading the forums. I really don't know what I'm doing but would like to root my phone. Seems really interesting and all the cool things you can do, but my question is can i use use the z4root on the market and then what would you guys suggest my next move. keep in mind I'm a complete newb.

Good question. First time rooting is scary. It was to me, at least. After awhile, you come to understand that there's basically nothing you can do to your phone that you can't restore from.

Here's my advice to you. Before you get into heavy modifications of your phone. Read up on how to backup and restore data. When you are modifying your phone if you don't do all the steps right, you can get your phone stuck and it won't load beyond the "M" or the boot animation. That's called "brick" because the phone basically becomes as useless as a brick.

I would like to show you a thread that I pasted into the http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ide-updated-4-pm-eastern-time-11-10-10-a.html

The link is here for the thread. http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ing-custom-rom-theme-how-unbrick-droid-x.html

Everything you need to know is contained here. There's information about rooting, theming, unbricking (how to get your phone back from being stuck)...

Please read this carefully, so you can have sufficient understanding of what you want to do and what you can do if you get into trouble before you go ahead with things.

Please PM me if I may be of any further assistance.

Upvote 0