If I root 2.1, can I receive the official 2.2 OTA?


Last Updated:

  1. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    I couldn't find the answer to my question even though this thread seems to dance around it.

    There is pretty much only ONE reason i want root on my droid x: to rename all VZW bloatware. That's it. I don't want to overclock. I don't want to get rid of blur. I don't want to custom theme or anything. All i want is to rename the bloatware apk's to bak's.

    So my question is, if i root my original 2.1 droid x and change the bloatware app names, when the OTA is getting pushed, will i receive it and be able to upgrade just fine? I realize that if i get the official 2.2 it should break my root and i'm ok with that because right now for me official 2.2 > official 2.1 with bloatware renamed. Mainly since i am confident 2.2 will be rooted soon after it comes out.

    Lastly, is the universal and root still the simplest way to root droid x 2.1?

    thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. saphilip

    saphilip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    update will fail if you are missing some apks from what ive heard, just rename em back before you update and im pretty sure you should be good to go

    also 2.2 has already been rooted for droid x using the droid 2 method, same thing apparently
     
    andross77 likes this.
  3. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    so all i have to do when i receive the OTA is go back into my root explorer app, rename the 7 or so apps that i changed, and then go back out to the notification bar and accept the OTA?

    i just want to be very clear before i root and miss out on 2.2 :) thanks.
     
  4. saphilip

    saphilip Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    that sounds correct, hopefully someone can verify however because im not 100% sure, i have heard this a bunch of times though
     
  5. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443

    Yes. That's it. You want your phone to be like a stock phone. As long as you rename the apps back and reboot, the phone will appear to be stock.

    Rooting it doesn't fundamentally change the phone (it only provides the ability to fundamentally change the phone), so it should not block the OTA update (though you will probably lose root during the OTA update).
     
    andross77 likes this.
  6. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    ok this is great. and i guess the universalandroot v. 1.6.2 beta 5 is the easiest way right now correct?

    as a side note, i wasn't saying i was going to get rid of the notification bar, i was just saying after i changed the names back to normal in the root explorer app, i would go back to the notification bar where the OTA notification was and proceed with the OTA update.

    thanks for the encouragement guys. can't wait to get rid of this bloatware!!!!!
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Yeah, I got what you were saying and edited my post - I thought you meant you had a custom notification bar. Rename the bloat back, and reboot (important), and you'll be good to go.

    Universalandroot is about the easiest thing going these days - worked great for me.
     
  8. Zumi

    Zumi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    24
    Can you just freeze the bloatware items (Car Docking, etc) using TiBa or does that not work?
     
  9. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    SNAP! that was easy!!! i just rooted AND unrooted (checked and made sure Superuser was gone) in under 35 seconds! WOW!!!

    See you in $#!@ CityID/Amazon mp3/Blockbuster/Skype mobile/3G Mobile Hotspot/Media Share/Voicemail and anything else i forgot!!!

    *edit* guess i'm leaving backupassistant and cardock. i don't think cardock messes anything up but i'm leaving it just in case.
     
  10. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    yup, i just freeze the stuff i dont intend to use rather delete/rename. Not that I want to hold onto the crapware for the ota, but just because its easy in tibu. I also freeze widgets and programs I have d/l or bought but don't need at the moment.

    for example i have fancy widget, weather toggle widgets, and beautiful widgets, but im only using one at a time/theme. I freeze the other 2 so they aren't running in the background. I have found doing that and freezing a bunch of others really speeded up my phone.
     
  11. GalaxyS_Superphone112

    GalaxyS_Superphone112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    how do you freeze apps?
     
  12. Zumi

    Zumi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    24
    In Titanium Backup (donate version) you can freeze apps by selecting it in the backup/restore list and then selecting 'Freeze!'. City ID is a good one to freeze that most will find pretty useless - since it's a monthly pay for app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...