Importing notification soundsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Smoked

    Smoked Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hello.

    I have an X10a from Rogers, rooted yesterday...Titanium backup, busy box, astro, and explorer installed. I applied some fonts yesterday so I know I have the root done right but i'm having trouble figuring out sounds.

    I would like to take an mp3 i have and put it in my notifications for email/texts but when I try to copy it to \system\media\sound\notifications it says I cannot paste.

    How can I do this? Do notifications have to be .ogg files?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    No you can use mp3 but you might need to use an app like RootExplorer which lets you change permissions for read and write access.

    I have all mine on the SD card but you need to set up your folders properly to find them when you want to change a tone. This is how mine are set up....

    On the SD create a folder called media, in that create one called audio (create one also called picture and another in that called wallpaper) within that create another 4 called...

    alarms
    music
    notifications
    ringtones


    ...and put your tones in the appropriate folders, then when you use settings to change your tones they will then show up in the appropriate selection window.
     
    Smoked likes this.
  3. Smoked

    Smoked Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    18
    That worked great thanks! (creating the folders)
     
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    You're welcome. :)
     
  5. Dbnguy

    Dbnguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi X10i user :)

    how about sharing your knowledge with the X10i???

    Upgraded to 2.1 yesterday and LOVE it. All my notifications and ringtones etc work, however, I am unable to apply a custom alarm tone for my alarm clock. I have tried adding a folder in the above directory called alarms, but it doesnt appear.

    Any ideas???

    Thanks a million. Heres hoping??????

    Lee
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Go on then. :rolleyes::D So you've got your tone in media - audio - alarms but can't view it? Try rebooting to see if that helps.
     
  7. Dbnguy

    Dbnguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    SIGH... I will say nothing about this topic except "Thank you X10i. " Clearly I never got the brain gene in my sibling pool...

    (However, I cant help confessing that I do feel like a right royal Dip stick ;-p )
     
  8. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    :) Happens to us all sometimes. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...