• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Interested in rooting phone, need some help

Greetings all,

So I've had my Vibrant since August, and I really enjoy it. However after the OTA my phones been acting very sluggish, and I feel like the battery life isn't what it used to be. I have always been interested in rooting this phone, but haven't thought it to be to necessary until now, since I feel like the OTA just hurt my phone as opposed to helping it. This is my first android device, so I am pretty new to all of this. With that I will release my slurry of questions.

1) So far I am pretty impressed with the way Bionix looks on the Vibrant. I am wondering what the significant difference between Bionix final and Bionix Fusion is. Which do you guys prefer?

2) I've noticed on https://sites.google.com/site/projectbionix/home/downloads that there are several different versions of each one. Whats the difference between them [for exampleBionix Kings (OC/UV by KingKlix) vs Bionix JAC (OC/UV Kernel)]

3) I've been researching this, and there appears to be several ways to root your Vibrant, as of now I' using this guide (How To: Root the Samsung Vibrant / Captivate | TheUnlockr). Is this the best way to do so, or are there easier alternative methods?

4) The above guide mentions nothing about the flashable modems, and I am wondering where they come into play.

Any information/answers/tips would be greatly appreciated, and if someone wants to walk me through the whole process, well that would just be swell :D

Thanks in advance!

Greetings all,