Interpreting "Running Services"Support


Last Updated:

  1. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    When I go into Applications, then select "Running Services", I cannot understand what the lower graphs mean? This is what it says:

    Other 37MB in 4... Avail 34MB+75MB in 15

    Is that good? bad? or means nothing?

    EDIT: Sorry, I googled this and found my answer. Mods, feel free to delete!

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. dpeeps74

    dpeeps74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    true? wait...false? i choose c!
     
  3. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well shit tell me. To lazy to google and always wondered. LOL
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    If you found the answer you could of told the others, LOL


     
  5. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ha, sorry guys. This is what I uncovered and it doesn't provide any true performance/speed indicators....

    Finally, along the bottom of the screen are some obscure numbers. If you know how to interpret them, this gives you a lot of information on the memory status of your device:

    • Avail: 38MB+114MB in 25 says that the device has 38MB of completely free (or likely used for unrequired caches) memory, and has another 114MB of available memory in 25 background processes it can kill at any time.
    • Other: 32MB in 3 says that the device has 32MB of unavailable memory in 3 unkillable processes (that is, processes that are currently considered to be foreground and must be kept running.
     
    scudder, DonB and andygu3 like this.
  6. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Thanks! This is good info for others, so rather than delete it, I moved it to the Support and Troubleshooting sub forum.
     
  7. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Wow, I have been looking for the memory usage information at the bottom of the Running Services screen for a long time. I was actually debating on writing a thread asking about it and now I do not have to. :)

    You know, I noticed sometimes Running Services does not show how much each process is using up in megabytes when I go into it. Instead it only shows the amount of time it has been running. Does anyone have any idea why this might be happening? Knowing how much RAM each process is using is useful in my opinion.
     
  8. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    So NOW...is there a way to find out, e.g, which "3 unkillable processes" are considered "foreground"?? Is is possible to get that info too??...somewhere...??

    My hope, I guess, is that if there is a process that is running that the phone considers "unkillable" but that I do NOT mean to have running because I didn't realize it or do NOT WANT running. I'm NOT talking about task-killing haphazardly (I do NOT have a task killer installed and don't use one!) but was just hoping to get some more information about the specific processes to see what is doing what when :eek:

    THANKS!
     
  9. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    If RAM gets critically low, running background processes can be killed too and they are part of that count listed above with the available RAM. However, this only happens after all other cached background processes have been killed first.

    It seemed with Android 2.1 and earlier, that if you left your handset on for weeks and weeks, eventually the RAM would start to get fragmented and then only a couple of processes could be cached when multitasking. So, in that event, every time one opened a RAM heavy app like the web browser, it would kick the cached HTC Sense process out of RAM when one went back to the home screen, and it would have to reload and vice versa if one went back to the web browser. I think that Android 2.2 and Android 2.3 mitigated this with more efficient memory management and better garbage collection, thus reducing RAM fragmentation. Handsets and tablets today have so much RAM that this is hardly an issue anymore anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...