Just bought the hero...(please read)


Last Updated:

  1. dr2012

    dr2012 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just bought the HTC Hero with T-mobile, Have I done the right thing?

    I've heard some people mention problems with Wi-fi and signal, is this a widespread problem or an isolated incident?

    Any other problems with the phone ATM, or will I be happy with the phone? With all the problems mentioned on this forum, im terrifed something will go wrong with my hero lol

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've only had mine a couple days, but I have't had any problems at all. In fact I disabled my Wifi because it kept wanting to connect to networks it'd find and alert me that they were available.

    I tried the Wifi connection a couple times (once at the house, once at a local restaurant with Wifi) and it worked well both times.
     
  3. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Just enjoy the phone :)
     
  4. Dook

    Dook Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the same thing as you a few days ago and got a Hero with T-mobile. Bearing in mind I was coming from a 16gb iPhone (2gen) I have to say I'm pretty impressed with the Hero and have no regrets so far.

    I don't know what phone you're coming from but I definitely noticed the difference in screen size to the iPhone. But I'm getting used to it.

    Just update your phone to the latest ROM straight away b4 you start to personalise it (make sure you charge the battery first!). You will notice an instant increase in responsiveness.

    Had no probs with wi-fi so far. Noticed it dropped it's data connection once but just restarted and it was ok.

    Apart from that it's a sick piece of kit (sick meaning good!!!)
     
  5. dr2012

    dr2012 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all replies

    Did your hero not come wih the latest T-Mobile ROM? When I asked them on theirwebsite, they said all phones currently in stock are fully updated :confused:
     
  6. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    The T-Mobile UK CSRs are clueless when it comes to the Hero I'm afraid. Updating to the latest ROM is a simple matter though. ;)
     
  7. Dook

    Dook Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. Mine didn't have the latest firmware. I think mine was on 1.76 something and the latest Tmobile one is: 2.73.110.26.

    As said earlier, upgrading is painless and makes a huge improvement to the phone.

    You shouldn't have any regrets getting the Hero...
     
  8. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    14
    No problems with WIFI here. Ive visited several other houses and public hot spots and it picks them up all fine. Its a great phone
     
  9. sebsal

    sebsal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    One problem I found with wifi is it doesn't work with N+ routers

    Another is if you need to enter proxy settings, you can't
     
  10. spenspuma

    spenspuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    12
    Had mine for over s month and have never had a single problem with WiFi.....actually its better than my laptop at connecting!
     
  11. andrewh

    andrewh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just arrived here on the fora. I have been using my unlocked Hero on Ethiopia Telecom for the last three weeks. It works great but the WiFi proxy issue is a real problem for me as I have access to some free WiFi but with authenticated proxy. I can now set proxy settings (IP address and port) via the Any Cut application available on the market but it seems like authenticated proxies are simply not supported.

    There have been messages about this for ages and yet the latest release (2.73.405.5 for me) still seems not to support authenticated proxies - shame on HTC and Google.

    Otherwise, what a phone and I must say I have been very impressed by Ethiopia Telecom so far - they even support EV-DO as well as 3G so I have a EV-DO portable and 3G phone!

    Andrew
     

Share This Page

Loading...