Kaos Froyo Boot Screen


Last Updated:

  1. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey all I put together this boot animation for Kaos Froyo. I saw this animation for other phones and wanted one for mine, so I put it all together with some stats on our phone. Use it if you want. Just push it to /data/local/ with ADB, there is no sound.

    This can be used on any phone, and any rom however since a boot animation is nothing but a series of images that are displayed one after another (open zip file to see for yourself) this will read "KaosFroyo v2.2" on any device you put it on. This will probably work on other devices other then the Eris, but the resolution is set to match that of the Eris.

    Hope you like it.

    http://lh3.ggpht.com/_9GgEs9EMpAE/TGXDkG316mI/AAAAAAAAbyY/R0EAq2f6l2o/eris-kaos-boot-animation.gif

    Download Link:
    https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B4...k4MDctNGYyNjE1NzM0MDA1&hl=en&authkey=CI_y4OUO

    Instructions on how to install:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/137845-boot-animation-help.html
     

    Advertisement
  2. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nice!
     
  3. Duffman3005

    Duffman3005 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nice work, I got the Hero version from XDA and wanted to PS it to read Eris/Kaos but it looks like you beat me to it. Nice work done, the gif went to fast for me (and won't replay for some reason), but did it just say KaosFroyo? I ask this because he does update often.

    I'll be pushing this soon, you rock!
     
  4. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah the only part that repeats on the actual animation is the last say 20 frames when the full android pic loads. I also notice that it runs quick on the gif as well, when on the phone its a bit slower so you get the right feel, and the loop part repeats about 3-5 times. I made the gif just a single play.

    Yeah there is no mention of the revision since I created this when he was on rev 26 or something.
     
  5. Duffman3005

    Duffman3005 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm putting
    adb push C:/androidsdk/bootanimation.zip /data/local/ but that doesn't work

    I've never got the hang of adb commands, I only lightly used it with a2sd on 2.1 roms.

    Edit-Just figured it out, I had to cd c:/androidsdk then adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local

    It works perfectly and it rocks so much as do you! :D
     
  6. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Can this be used on xtrSense?

    I have no idea what to do, I just rooted (first timer) to xtrSense a few hours ago.
     
  7. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can this be used for any rom without screwing something up?
     
  8. Jefman

    Jefman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    installation doesn't work... "E:No Signature (137)
    E: Verification failed
    Installation aborted"
     
  9. Duffman3005

    Duffman3005 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can't flash it (I tried and got that same exact response), you have to push it through ADB.

    Also to the OP, I've linked to this from this topic on XDA. You've made alot of people happy lol.
     
  10. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    What is ADB? That what pops up when I connect through USB?
     
  11. PhillySteve

    PhillySteve Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah I am searching for adb as well but get no results..
     
  12. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    ADB is a command that is executed through the android sdk, so you need to have that installed on your PC first. To use adb, you also need to have the USB debugging option enabled on the phone (settings > applications > development). The adb executable is in the "tools" folder of the sdk.
     
  13. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you want you can use it on that rom, however it will still read "KaosFroyo v2.2" Remember that a boot animation is nothing but a series of png files the the os is displaying one after another, it does not can not read any system variables.
     
  14. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5

    You can even put this on a non rooted phone and not have anything screwed up. However like my previous post it will still read KaosFroyo, The animation is nothing but a series of PNG files.
     
  15. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Glad you go it copied, ADB is not much different then and other dos/linux command you just have to run it from the directory it resides in.
     
  16. lennyjew

    lennyjew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've just been using root explorer and cutting/pasting bootanimation.zip files to data/local/ and that's been working well enough for me. I like to change animations on the go sometimes so I made a folder for each boot animation (so I don't get them all confused). It's just nice to having to find a computer with adb on it.
     
    DFA1 likes this.
  17. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    This sounds a lot easier and doesn't look like it requires a computer to do so...
     
  18. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Correct you can do this as well, I have done this and was successful.
     
  19. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Do I have to unzip it there or no?
     
  20. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    No do not unzip, just copy it to /data/local/ and you should be all set, of course reboot to see it.
     
  21. Kaessa

    Kaessa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    222
    I love this! Is there a way to save the one that's currently on there before I change it?
     
  22. sobsmb

    sobsmb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    You are not overriding anything, deleting the bootanimation.zip from /data/local/ takes you back to the original one that came with the rom.
     
  23. Kaessa

    Kaessa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    222
    Sweet, thank you. :)
     
  24. Kaessa

    Kaessa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    222
    It works beautifully! Thanks!
     
  25. Jazza09

    Jazza09 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is /data/local/ located at? I looked in the data folder and there is nothing
     

Share This Page

Loading...