1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

LauncherPro Homescreen Help


Last Updated:

  1. MsL

    MsL Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have been using LaucherPro for about a month now and really like it. I finally found out how to swipe gesture my dock and all.

    Now my problem is that I decided to play with setting a little more and wanted to enable the number of columns and rows on the home screen. I sit my columns to 3 and rows to 1, then attempted to add widgets. However, when I do do I get a message saying that there is no more room on my home screen. I don't have anything on my home screen so I'm not understanding what I am doing wrong. I uninstalled and reinstalled LP and still the same problem.

    TIA

    Raquel
     

    Advertisement
  2. reinbeau

    reinbeau Klaatu barada nikto VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    218
    That 'no more room' message drives me crazy too, I'm interested in what you find out.
     
  3. MsL

    MsL Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    6
    Glad I'm not the only one having this problem
     
  4. Newbie-Droid

    Newbie-Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also trying out several apps to run my droid x, am currently comparing Quickdesk, ADW.Launcher, LauncherPro, and Visual Task Switcher. Anyone heard anything horrific about any of these? (memory card wiped clean, battery drains extra quick, phone becomes a brick, etc.) Also, if you really think one of these apps, or another I'm not aware of, performs incredibly well, please let me know. Last request, what the heck is draining my battery in 5 to 7 hours? I just purchased a Seidio Innocell Extended Life Battery, but I have a feeling it won't do much more than add an extra hour or so of use.
    Is there an app that fixes this problem. (Apologies for my ignorance, I've only had this phone for 5 days, it's been extremely frustrating trying to utilize it properly)

    Thanx for any input you have on these issues!
     
  5. dawnierae

    dawnierae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    875
    It's because you set your columns to 3 and your rows to 1 and the widgets you are trying to add take up more than 1 row. You need to give yourself more rows. I recommend nothing less than 4 columns and 4 rows, as that is the maximum widget size.
     
    4lph4num3r1c likes this.
  6. MsL

    MsL Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks Dawn,

    I just went back to on rows for now. I will play around as you suggested with the 4 colums and and 4 rows.

     
  7. Kabob

    Kabob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    40
    As I understand it, the way Android is set up a widget doesn't just take 1 row and stretch it out, it takes up 4 rows worth of room, so if you tell it you've only got 1 row while it will definitely fit on-screen, it isn't big enough in the system files.
     
  8. TLDspectre

    TLDspectre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    19
    A widget will usually take up the amount of space it's designed to occupy. Simple widgets like toggle switches (bluetooth, wifi, etc.) can be as small as 1 row by 1 column, others can be as large as 4 x 4. So if you set your LP home screen size to 1 row by 3 columns, then try to place a widget whose design size is larger (greater than 1 row or greater than 3 columns), you'll get the error. Unfortunately most widgets don't clue you in to their actual size until you successfully place them - it's a trial and error process. Some developers include a variety of sizes for their widgets; for example, Beautiful Widgets' standard clock/weather widget is 4 columns x 2 rows, but they include a separate 4x1 weather widget labelled "Beautiful Weather 4x1".
     

Share This Page

Loading...