Lockout Screen ModificationGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I searched and could not find an answer:eek:.

    When my screen is locked and I open it to unlock using the pattern the below information is listed above the patern:

    This phone belongs to:
    (Pic of a clock) ---
    protected by antivirus

    My question is how can I modify line 1?
    What the heck is line 2?
    No problems with line 3.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.....:D
     

    Advertisement
  2. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    **UPDATE**

    OK, I feel like an idiot....Sorry folks for this.

    I loaded "AVG Antivirus Pro" and as part of this program it puts this info on the lockout screen. In the AVG settings you can modify this information to whatever you like.

    Again sorry for the post but hope it helps if someone else notices this and has no idea what the heck to do.....
     
  3. john_g

    john_g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    186
    The next thing you might notice is that your battery drains really quickly... I loaded AVG a few weeks ago and, whilst it intially looked extremely promising, I found that its anti-theft location-tracking feature meant that it turned the GPS on every few seconds. On the version I tried there didn't seem to be any way to disable this or modify the position update frequency so I unloaded the program. Lots of other people have found this to make the program unusable so I'm sure AVG will fix it but, because ownership still seems to be somewhere in the air between AVG and the original developers, it's not clear when this will happen or how it will be publicised.

    If they have fixed it, could someone let me know please because I've always found AVG for Windows to be a great product and, apart from this serious flaw, the Android version seemed pretty competent too.
     
  4. saj_2001ind

    saj_2001ind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    67
    do we really have virus on android ? any one found one ?
     
  5. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you connect to the internet????

    There is always the possibility of a virus, malware, trojan, etc... On any device that connects to the net...why take the chance?
     
  6. saj_2001ind

    saj_2001ind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    67
    android is based on linux kernel, and so far no virus (or very less) attacked linux kernel...never heard of any virus on android ... there is no problem installing a antivirus on phone but it should be more productive than causing destructions like battery drainage, CPU usage etc .... so let us know if you heard of any virus on android plss that will be helpful
     
  7. Tiny65

    Tiny65 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is true but then again why take the chance, for peace of mind I'll keep my AV loaded and also look into the battery/GPC issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...