• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Low memory on Asus Transformer Infinity, even right after startup

joshnl

Oct 1, 2012
This is my first post in these forums. I'm actually new to whole Android world, but have been getting some intensive experience with it over the last week or so with my new Asus Transfomer Infinity

Anyways, I'm currently noticing something that may or may not be an issue: Even right after startup, I've only got about 1/3 free memory (this is after updating to Jelly Bean, which I just did this morning - before that, on ICS, it was more like 50%, which I still think seems kind of low). When I add up the memory that each running app is taking, the total is nowhere near 2/3 of the device memory (i.e. about 650MB). When I use Memory Booster to clear the memory, it only improves it a few percent, and then the free memory starts to quickly drop again.

So my question is, is this normal, or is there something weird going on? Could this be some sort of strange hardware issue, for example?

I'd really appreciate any input!

Thanks very much!

BTW, apologies for having posted this in the wrong area ("Introductions" before. Couldn't figure out if it was possible to change the section of an already existing post.

1st, stop using task killers like memory boosters, it causes trouble in the long run.

2nd, its normal. Android is designed to use up as much RAM as possible because it preloads the most often used apps so that they will startup faster. These are just sitting on memory and not using any CPU cycles so no battery is used up. Basically on Android, the more RAM is used up, the faster apps open.

Reactions: joshnl
Upvote 0
1st, stop using task killers like memory boosters, it causes trouble in the long run.